PDA

View Full Version : Auto-X Set-Ups ?

2cam16
10-19-2007, 05:38 PM
Hi all,
Newbie here just lurking. I'm looking into buying a '97 and want to know what are the potentials of this car at autocross ?
I'm coming from autocrossing a WRX and want to know if it's worth it with the Ti. I'm not looking in placing, just having fun like I always do.
Is setting up the car expensive ? If I just do the basic springs/shocks/swaybar, will it be good enough and what class does theccar fall into ?
Thanks for anyone's help! :)

GroggyinMO
10-19-2007, 06:10 PM
Generally runs G Stock
Of course that depends what you do with it. Anything more than struts (no springs) and tires will put you in a racing class with lots of people with BIG BUCKS and BIG Engines

I just bought mine 3 weeks ago so I can't say personally but I have seen a few give the competetion a run for their money. Keep in mind this is a VERY competetive class and you will be running with a lot of other nice cars.

mohaughn
10-19-2007, 08:17 PM
In SCCA classes you will be hard pressed to make the Ti competitive. According to the 2007 rule book the Ti is in G-stock, not H.

If you are just looking to go out and have fun it is a great car for that. But the crazy SCCA rules and somewhat whacky classing of more powerful cars in the same groups that the Ti competes in makes it not that competitive. Smaller more technical courses will be to your advantage. But I don't see how you can beat an equally skilled driver who is in something like an RSX type S, Focus SVT, Cooper S, eclipse turbo, or impreza 2.5. The other cars competing in G-stock.

Either stay in a stock or a street touring class to keep your costs down.

BMWCCA autocross uses the point system to classify cars, and locally to me there are a two different Ti's that have good drivers and are competitive in the "A" group. I think they are usually 1 & 2 at the end of the year.

PeteN95
10-19-2007, 09:38 PM