PDA

View Full Version : Cooling system question...

zoner
10-22-2008, 04:58 AM
I think I may know what the problem is, but since I'm a noob to the ti, maybe there is something I'm not thinking of or know of...

My temp. gauge fluxuates between just off of the blue bar to just a hair past the halfway point with normal driving. If it is cool outside and I am at freeway speeds, it is on the low side. If it is warm and I am driving in the city or in traffic, it is on the high side. I always thought that at operating temperature, if the cooling system is functioning correctly, there should be little, if any, fluxuation in the gauge. I'm tempted to think that the thermostat is either too low of a temperature for the climate- it is not completely closing and giving the radiator time to do its job, or it is broken altogether (stuck open). The fan does kick on, so it would appear that the problem is not with the fan.

Anyone have a similar experience or have any thoughts on this? Or is this just a quirk of the ti?

Thanks in advance for any help... :smile:

cooljess76
10-22-2008, 05:15 AM
The needle should rise to the 12 o'clock position and remain there during the entire time the car is running. If it drops, even slightly, I'd say that your thermostat probably could use replacing.

Will'sBimmer
10-22-2008, 06:09 AM
Mine did the same thing. I bought a new thermostat and everything was back to working just fine. Never moves from the middle now.

zoner
10-22-2008, 07:06 AM
Just as I suspected. Is there a standard factory temp. thermostat, or do they make a range of temperatures? I should probably check to see what temperature the fan switch is, just to be sure... no?

I need to get the car dialed in before I take it in for a smog check (including changing the chip back to stock this weekend).

zoner
10-25-2008, 02:45 AM