PDA

View Full Version : HUGE mpg change. HELP!!!


jeph23
11-22-2004, 06:04 PM
Hey everyone. I have a 96 TI and I used to get about 400 miles on a tank of gas. I commute to work every day and it has been the same route for the past 4 years. All of a sudden, about 3-4 weeks ago my mpg dropped dramatically. Right now I am getting about 340 miles out of the tank. With the prices of gas now, this isn't the best time for it to be doing this ya know? But, I thought it could be the air filter so I changed it to a RamFX system. Gave me more horse but didn't solve my problem. I then decided to change my plugs. Made the car run a little smoother, but again, didn't fix my problem. I checked the tire pressure on all of my tires and they are dead on, so, I do not know where this is coming from. If anyone has any ideas on what this could be, your help would be GREATLY appreciated!!! Thanks!

Jeph

KIRASIR
11-22-2004, 06:08 PM
O2 sensors?

Hey everyone. I have a 96 TI and I used to get about 400 miles on a tank of gas. I commute to work every day and it has been the same route for the past 4 years. All of a sudden, about 3-4 weeks ago my mpg dropped dramatically. Right now I am getting about 340 miles out of the tank. With the prices of gas now, this isn't the best time for it to be doing this ya know? But, I thought it could be the air filter so I changed it to a RamFX system. Gave me more horse but didn't solve my problem. I then decided to change my plugs. Made the car run a little smoother, but again, didn't fix my problem. I checked the tire pressure on all of my tires and they are dead on, so, I do not know where this is coming from. If anyone has any ideas on what this could be, your help would be GREATLY appreciated!!! Thanks!

Jeph

1996 328ti
11-22-2004, 06:37 PM
Does your area change to oxygenated gas?

hotdog19d
11-23-2004, 07:32 PM
O2 sensors

yeehawbob
11-23-2004, 09:42 PM
Definately o2 sensors! change is real easy! Do not waste money on the Tool!

1996 328ti
11-24-2004, 12:44 AM
How can anyone be so sure it is 02 sensors? And which 02 sensors? Pre cat and/or post cat?

NEKO
11-24-2004, 03:20 AM
I would take your car to an inspection garage and have them plug into your car to see which error codes come up. That way you'll know exactly whats wrong.

Jeff Spooner
11-24-2004, 04:35 AM
definatley,definatly O2 sensor, yeah, yeah, definatly. Wapner @ 5:00, Wapner @ 5:00 !!!!
you guys should charge $100 an hour for correctly scanning codes over the internet and give a 12 month - 12,0000 mile warrenty on all parts and labor. Once again your killing me!!!!

1996 328ti
11-24-2004, 04:51 AM
Going off topic a bit, I love when people diagnosis a check engine light over the internet. :)

318.g25
11-24-2004, 04:57 AM
we'll you didn't forget to take the dead body out of the trunk did you???? thats an extra 160lbs... then try o2 sensors

bmw///m3///
11-24-2004, 05:11 AM
at autozone in my town have ODB2 code readers that anyone can use for free. Check into that and save cash.