PDA

View Full Version : HELP! building an e46 318ti

msperling
02-28-2005, 02:23 AM
Hi all,

First let me say, I am a novice when it comes to cars. I am thinking about enlisting the help of a few friends who know their way around cars better than I (one builds engines for Saleen) and undertaking a project which would involve buying a 318ti (1995 with 200K miles is cheapest) and putting a supercharged e36 m3 engine in or possibly an e46 m3 engine. How much more difficult is e46?

I might sell my 2001 M Roadster to try this project, since it would be fun and quite possibly more track ready than stock M Roadster.

I estimate i would need to buy the engine, the car, possibly (tell me if definitly) the transmission, suspension, wheels, brakes, AND WHAT ELSE? Body kit and racing seats paint stuff etc will be purchased but not too relevant to my perfomance concerns here.

What have I forgotten? and any rough estimates of cost? I am talking with people at Race Marque Systems next week and any comments from knowledgable people will be GREATLY appreciated.

P.S. I am not gonna sell the car or anything until i have a good game plan, im not totally crazy.

Appreciate the help,

Matt Sperling

clex2
02-28-2005, 04:42 AM
Matt,

Sounds like you want something fun and a little different. There are a few of us here who have ti's with motor swaps ( J!m, Steven, myself). I can tell you they are a whole lot of fun. It's like your M Coupe with 4 seats. FIrst, it won't be cheap and you will never recoupe what you put into it when (if) you sell it. That's just part of the experience. As far as what you've listed, that's most of it. But there are specifics you should entertain when you actually decide to build this thing. You'll want to figure out what suspension you'll want, b/c the front suspension off an M3 will alllow for M3 brakes. Infact, if you can, you'll want the entire rear subframe off an M coupe. it fits right in and it is stronger.