PDA

View Full Version : 95,000mile tune-up questions

ElementalFiend
03-15-2005, 09:14 PM
My '95 Automatic is approaching the 95,000mile mark and I'd like to do a tune-up on it to keep it running as good as it has been. I'd like to do as much of this myself as possible to keep costs down also. My questions are:

1) I have read here that I need NGK spark plugs - but which type should I get and what gap shoudl I set them at?

2) I popped the hood and looked yesterday.. do I need to remove the intake to get at the spark plugs or what?

3) Does this car have a distributor cap hidden somewhere or what?

4) I am going to go ahead and replace all the belts. Does anyone have any suggestions on where I should get these? Just get the from the dealership?

5) What other things should I check and replace? I am fairly new to car maintenance, but I think I have decent knowledge about how the engine works from reading books.

6) What windshield wipers would you recommend? The last set I bought didn't fit right and the set before that did a pretty horrible job at clearing the window of rain.

Thanks ahead of time for any answers.

ElementalFiend
03-15-2005, 09:20 PM
Ahahah, I'm retarded. Looking more thoroughly through some of the other posts I see that that cover on the top of the engine isn't just for looks, its hiding the spark plugs! For some reason when I looked under the hood it looked like all the wires were leading under the intake, so I assumed they were there. This should make changing the spark plugs a heck of a lot easier.

Oh well, I could still use some answers on the rest of the questions, and now I have a new one. If the spark plugs are there under that cover.. why did I read someone recommending a 10" ratchet extension to remove them?

cali-ti
03-16-2005, 02:35 PM
you're not retarded (at least i hope not if you're driving around on the same roads i am :P), you're just inexperienced at working on your car (for now, that'll change :) ).