PDA

View Full Version : Kumho vs Toyo

BMWVW
06-29-2005, 02:37 PM
Hi all,

I am trying to decide between the Toyo Proxes T1-S and Kumho Ecsta Supra 712 tyres - 225/45/17.

Main question is how do people find the handling on bad pavement. I had to replace two tyres last year and I didn't have a choice other than Toyo so now I have a pair of Toyos on the rear and Kumho Supra 711 on the front. On bad pavement, I have to fight the car, but I can't figure out if it is just the combination of the tyres and if I go with all Toyo I will be fine or if the Toyos are really the problem. The car used to pull on bad pavement with the Kumho, but mainly on tar lines. Now irregular road can be a mission to drive and actually a little scary when there is a rig next to you.

Cheers,
Paul.

bullmand
06-29-2005, 02:48 PM
Paul,
I've been running the Kumho 712s for a few years now and I haven't had any significant tramlining issues with them. The last time I replaced them I switched from 225 to 205 width. It seems like there's even less of this with the narrower tire. I've been happy with the Kumhos with the exception of some flat-spotting issues. They seem to be unusually susceptible to that.

nick_hegel
06-29-2005, 02:48 PM
I haven't had the Toyos, but I had the Kumhos (225/40ZR18's) on my car. They were okay in terms of handling and grip. I've heard the Toyos are better for that. The Kumhos wear better because they are a harder tire and that is why you lose in the handling.

adamud
06-29-2005, 03:42 PM
i have the kumho tires also. i drive extremely spiritly around town. they have held up great through 2 autocrosses with very little wear. they have been on my car for about 3 months and the performance is still great, but i have no clue about toyos.

ZeroG
06-29-2005, 04:33 PM
Hi all,

I am trying to decide between the Toyo Proxes T1-S and Kumho Ecsta Supra 712 tyres - 225/45/17.