PDA

View Full Version : Will I be happy with a 318ti?

not2fast
07-21-2005, 03:52 AM
I'm looking for a new daily drive can add a little fun to my commute. I'm new to BMW's having only autoxed a E36 M3 and driven 2 E30's. (A 87 325is and 91 318is. )

I really liked the E30 318is. It was fun car, but not fast enough to be my summer car and I had a better daily driver at the time. So how does a 318ti compare to the 318is? From what I remember about the 318is is that it was quick for in traffic driving and city stuff, but lacked power as a highspeed cruiser which is fine. So is that what I can expect with a 318ti?

What do you have to do to get 150hp at the crank? What will it cost to do it?

96ti
07-22-2005, 12:00 AM
I have had my ti for almost 2 years and I am totally satisfied with it. if any thing happened to my ti, I would absolutely buy another one again. It is fast in the city and handle like a cham. Not to mention that it is quite simple and inexpensive to maintain. Highly recommend.

1996 328ti
07-22-2005, 12:45 AM
This is going to be a very biased group.
I wrecked my 1998 ti and bought a 1996 ti afterwards.

I bought my98 brand new because of the price. It handled so well and I really enjoyed driving it on the test drives. I had to have another.

Panzer_M
07-22-2005, 01:16 AM
150 easy with DINAN engine mods. M44 estimated with 160ish

modding is close to a d16 or B18b, not a huge aftermarket, forced induction is your best bet.

not2fast
07-22-2005, 03:24 AM
So what are the pros and cons of owning one?

Panzer_M
07-22-2005, 03:47 AM
4 cyl m44 or m42 vs a m50 in the aftermarkets availible.

not2fast
07-22-2005, 10:17 AM
So what are your pro and cons?

I was thinking something like:

Pros:
Versatility, Reliable, Good MPG, Handling

Cons:
Wish it had more power?

cali-ti
07-22-2005, 12:50 PM
So what are your pro and cons?

I was thinking something like:

Pros:
Versatility, Reliable, Good MPG, Handling

Cons:
Wish it had more power?