PDA

View Full Version : My very first oil change

Platanos
11-11-2005, 03:08 PM
ok, now dont laugh. i have never done an oil change before, never. the last time i took the ti to the dealer and they robbed me blind. i think it was like 80 for the change. then they said something about the belts needed changing. total bill was 400sum. and all i went in for was an oil change!

so i want to do this myself. how do i do it? what do i need? a step by step would be nice.:redface: there is like a drain bolt under the car right? just take that out, let it drain, then close it and fill it back up? tia

Slynke
11-11-2005, 03:11 PM
It's a little more complicated than that...

First you need to buy the filter kit, which comes with a filter and the little rubber thing (it's too damn early and I have the day off.. I can't remember what it's called!)

After that, I have no idea. I was looking to do my first oil change on the BMW very soon (within the next 100 miles) and was a little confused too. I've looked at all the different DIY on bimmerdiy.com but non of them are M42 specific, so I can't even find my filter in the engine bay...

L84THSKY
11-11-2005, 04:33 PM
Follow this link. I gave alot of info on what you need to do and buy

http://www.318ti.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3670&page=2&highlight=change

ok, now dont laugh. i have never done an oil change before, never. the last time i took the ti to the dealer and they robbed me blind. i think it was like 80 for the change. then they said something about the belts needed changing. total bill was 400sum. and all i went in for was an oil change!

so i want to do this myself. how do i do it? what do i need? a step by step would be nice.:redface: there is like a drain bolt under the car right? just take that out, let it drain, then close it and fill it back up? tia

aceyx
11-11-2005, 06:14 PM
Planatos; unless you authorized the repairs, you didn't have to pay. It's actually a law.

96ti
11-11-2005, 11:55 PM