318ti.org forum (http://www.318ti.org/forum/index.php)
-   Maintenance (http://www.318ti.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Sticky throttle pedal (http://www.318ti.org/forum/showthread.php?t=10577)

nigeltee 05-17-2006 07:49 PM

Sticky throttle pedal

Guys,

Since having our ti, we have had a problem with the throttle pedal sticking in the closed position.

Its mostly noticeable when applying gentle throttle pressure, such as crawling in traffic, or moving away from traffic lights.

Before anyone says, just put your foot down, its not that simple, because you dont always need much throttle.

HAving a sticky pedal can make for jerky progress.

Our mechanic has greased the pivot on the top of the pedal and am pretty sure he sprayed some cleaner into the throttle body. ( if thats correct, i am no mechanic). After doing this it was momentarily better, but the problem has come back.

Any suggestions on what i could do?

Thanks in advance,

Nige

clex2 05-17-2006 09:59 PM

I have had a similar probelm, but very intermittently. About a year ago, I forcefully sprayed a ton of lubricant down the throttle cable sleeve. I don't remember exactly what I used. Could be WD-40 or Silicone. Now, the problem is either gone or so infrequent that I can't rememeber if it's still there. Give it a try. I made sure it got in there real good and I think I moved the cable in and out between sprays thinking it would loosen any gunk that was possibly making the cable stick.

nusstroy 05-17-2006 10:49 PM

had that problem in the suburban, didnt matter much because it takes enough acceleator to start moving in those things in the first place, i just greased up the throttle cable (WD-40), it doesnt stick any more.

Good luck!

dodj 05-18-2006 12:15 AM

mine sticks sometimes, i usually just give it a little tap then its ok.

nigeltee 05-20-2006 05:37 PM

lube up the cable, so simple, yet overlooked. thanks for your help. will get the wd on it soon.

Nigel

pdxmotorhead 05-20-2006 06:02 PM