318ti.org forum (http://www.318ti.org/forum/index.php)
-   Air Filters/Intakes (http://www.318ti.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   thoughts on fogging... (http://www.318ti.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6244)

maherbaz 07-14-2005 09:38 PM

thoughts on fogging...

I have been thinking a lot lately about fogging my air box. Everyone on here seems to like it a lot. I am no engineer, so the logic seems sound to me:

Find a source of cold air, and force it in. This makes the engine burn more fuel, and thus more power.

But the more I think about it, the less sense it makes...
First, about the "forcing." On Fogg's website, he compares the air flow at several RPM levels. This shows a dramatic increase in air flow even at low RPMs. I can't imagine the car traveling fast enough at this RPM to force much air all the way from the brake line, up the tubing, into the air box, etc. Also, I read in a post on here that some people leave the stock intake in place, and cut another hole in the air box for the hose to the brake duct. Let's assume that at high speeds air is really able to be forced up the hose. If air was being forced up the "fogged" tube and merely "sucked" in through the stock tube, no air should be traveling in through the stock intake. The forced air coming from the "fogged" tube would then procede to follow the path of least resistance. This path wouldn't be up through the air filter, it would be out the stock hose. The only air entering the engine would therefore be the air it sucked up.