318ti.org forum (http://www.318ti.org/forum/index.php)
-   Interior and ICE (http://www.318ti.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   First time owner looking for a project! (http://www.318ti.org/forum/showthread.php?t=25466)

chentsc 02-05-2009 10:54 PM

First time owner looking for a project!

I just bought my first BMW, a ti with around 50,000 miles on it. I'm very excited, I've been looking around at them for a while (I'll post pictures soon!).

I have some basic car knowledge and tools, but I would like to do a simple upgrade or modification to A) build my confidence in working with cars and B) learn about the inner workings of my new ride. Any ideas???

I was thinking of installing the CD changer, I saw in the trunk where it is pre-wired. How do I go about finding a compatible changer? Is there a store online that has them for reasonable prices? Thanks ahead of time for your input.

Mallard 02-05-2009 11:03 PM

Hey bud! congrats on the Ti :)

The only cd changer option is the BMW one really.. as the radio will need to communicate with the changer. Have a look on the sales section here, or Ebay for good priced units.

tiFreak 02-06-2009 04:44 AM

welcome to the forum, 50k is some low mileage for a 96 :eek:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mallard (Post 215086)
The only cd changer option is the BMW one really..

yup, also, there are two different CD changers, one made by Alpine and on by Pioneer, which will only be compatible with the headunit of the same brand, you can tell them apart by appearance

Alpine headunit:
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y26...IMG_0725-1.jpg

Pioneer headunit:
http://i8.ebayimg.com/03/i/001/2f/31/ad3b_1.JPG

as for simple installations, maybe a cold air intake? check cosmoracing.com for some pretty good priced setups

chentsc 02-06-2009 05:40 AM

Thanks! So I definitely have the Pioneer. So I need to get the Pioneer changer and the bracket that it mounts in, right?

campaiar 02-06-2009 03:36 PM