318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Engine Swaps

Notices

Engine Swaps Engine conversions.

» Recent Threads
M50+manual swap bastard...
03-01-2024 10:00 PM
Last post by Andy318
Yesterday 02:34 PM
3 Replies, 44,729 Views
Cali Top owners: How...
07-14-2014 04:29 PM
Last post by Trusted-1
03-15-2024 02:37 AM
2 Replies, 42,044 Views
FOR SALE: 82k mile 1995...
03-15-2024 01:24 AM
Last post by di318
03-15-2024 01:24 AM
0 Replies, 37,532 Views
BMW E36 Compact rear...
03-13-2024 12:56 PM
Last post by BMW Welsh rally
03-13-2024 12:56 PM
0 Replies, 48,543 Views
WTB: 318ti with...
04-20-2022 08:57 AM
Last post by di318
03-10-2024 08:08 PM
21 Replies, 243,933 Views
The 318ti OBD-II engine...
10-19-2006 06:48 PM
Last post by Cybersid13
03-09-2024 02:12 PM
209 Replies, 676,518 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark

Old 07-01-2018, 05:06 PM   #1
Projectvoltron

Default M52 Swap Questions

Whats up everyone. I am new to he BMW scene and I am excited to do something with my newly acquired 318ti. I have done some motor swaps in all kinds of other cars including my current Audi.

I got my 97 318ti 5 speed M sport package for $100 and all it needed was a battery and started up. The radiator was leaking so I bought a new one and It has been a champ ever since. The car Is clean as far as body damage is concerned. It doesn't have clear coat on the hood or roof is the main thing wrong. Also the front seat are in poor shape. Everything else works and is in clean shape.

I have an opportunity to get a 328i auto with a bad transmission for a decent deal. I am thinking this will be a good doner car for a 318ti transplant. The car starts up and runs just fine.

I do have a few questions that I have not yet been able to figure out.

Will there be any issues using the Auto engine in my manual ti? I have read some conflicting things on this subject so I would like to get a straight answer.