318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Garage > Lounge

Notices

Lounge Temporary forum until new sections are suggested.

» Recent Threads
The 318ti OBD-II engine...
10-19-2006 06:48 PM
Last post by Filiski120
04-24-2024 06:40 PM
210 Replies, 1,024,620 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark

Old 04-09-2010, 06:27 AM   #1
rochey6957

Vehicles
Default Resurecting a TI

Hello everyone im brand new to the ti forum and i want to share with you the salvage and rebuild of my newly purchased ti. My father helped my puchase it, however it's not the first BMW to be in the garage. About 5 or 6 years ago my Dad bought a 1997 318i from a local dealer(it was his mid life crisis car ). its always run strong and never had any real problems with it.

So 6 months ago he was drivng by another dealership and spoted a dust covered Z3. the dealer said he just got it from a guy who only drove it during the summer and kept it in his garage the rest of the year.the car had less than 90k miles on it. It had a few things wrong with it like the plastic defroster button was broken the back window was faded and cracking. Just minor things like that and he bought it up for less than 6 grand! We fixed her up and shined her untill she looked like a brand new penny.

Almost two weeks after the Z3 was road worthy but in the garage to avoid the harsh PA winter the 318i blows a head gasket! it took almost two weeks to fix that. she ran great for 100miles then it was losing oil pressure and it wouldn't start. we ended up replacing almost every sensor, putting a new exhaust and catalytic converter on plus a buch more parts on and still it wouldn't start! we had the dealer hook it up the computer they have and the bottom half of the engine went, all the seals were no good. so we ended up buying an engine,tranny,intake manifold+fuel injectors and the wiring harness of a salvage yard from $1200. Droped the new engine in and its got more horses and growl then i ever remember.