318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Electrical

Notices

Electrical All wiring questions.

.
» Recent Threads
95 318ti in Albuquerque
Yesterday 07:26 AM
Last post by 1999AvusM-sport
Today 05:31 AM
3 Replies, 199 Views
Belt squeaking after...
11-27-2018 11:56 PM
Last post by BRADESTAR
Today 02:47 AM
6 Replies, 607 Views
FS: '98-Manual-169k...
Yesterday 08:04 PM
Last post by Boston Green
Yesterday 08:04 PM
0 Replies, 82 Views
WTB 5 speed 318ti, am...
Yesterday 05:53 PM
Last post by KASZ
Yesterday 05:53 PM
0 Replies, 85 Views
New here so lets arc you...
11-09-2018 08:56 AM
Last post by 318tiFatherFigure
Yesterday 10:59 AM
2 Replies, 589 Views
Oil Filter Housing Leak...
02-14-2008 09:21 PM
Last post by Locus7
Yesterday 01:06 AM
118 Replies, 80,968 Views
Is this a clubsport?
12-09-2018 06:54 AM
Last post by dranthony
12-10-2018 08:44 PM
5 Replies, 371 Views
California Top Trim...
07-16-2014 08:59 AM
Last post by 3DGE
12-09-2018 09:37 PM
9 Replies, 4,590 Views
M42 / M44 loose...
12-07-2018 08:10 PM
Last post by Frach23
12-07-2018 09:34 PM
1 Replies, 392 Views
Anyone seen a carbon...
11-16-2018 06:19 AM
Last post by eurohb
12-07-2018 05:26 AM
1 Replies, 494 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2008, 06:55 PM   #1
Borg561
Senior Member
 
Borg561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 742
iTrader: (0)
Default Electrical drain

So, I've heard that BMWs are known to continuously pull a charge from the battery, and if you're going to let them sit for an extended period of time you need to keep some outside charge hooked up or disconnect the battery to avoid draining the battery. Since my car is probably going to be sitting for a while waiting repairs, how often should I go out and start it up and let it run? Right now I've been starting it every other day and letting it run for about 5 minutes. Is this enough, not enough, more than enough? I just don't want to get stuck with a dead car before getting it fixed.

Justin
Borg561 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 10:02 PM   #2
Mallard
Senior Member
 
Mallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Land of the Vikings
Posts: 2,702
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

take the battery off mate..

hook it up only when needed if the cars out of service for so long.
__________________


Vin Number decode and Retrofit Pdfs Available Free ! Just PM
Mallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 11:10 PM   #3
tiFreak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: asdfasdf
Posts: 10,029
Vehicles
iTrader: (8)
Default

+1, if you don't feel like taking the battery out though, you could just hook up a trickle charger, is the car sitting indoors?
tiFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 11:34 PM   #4
aceyx
Senior Member
 
aceyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: state college, pa
Posts: 3,431
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borg561 View Post
how often should I go out and start it up and let it run?
This is actually bad for your car. Hook it up to a battery charger (I use a Battery Tender) or remove it and bring it inside.
__________________
I scream, you scream, we all scream for ZOMBIES.
aceyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 02:13 AM   #5
Borg561
Senior Member
 
Borg561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 742
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tiFreak View Post
+1, if you don't feel like taking the battery out though, you could just hook up a trickle charger, is the car sitting indoors?
Car is outside. It's been less than a week since the accident, and I should find out in the next day or so if I'm approved for the loan to get it fixed. If I'm not, I'm probably going to have it towed home (it's at my aunt's right now, a couple blocks from the body shop) and put in our garage (not connected to the house). If I end up dropping it in the garage, I'll pull the battery. If that's the case, what all needs to be reinitialized when I put the battery back in, power windows, sunroof, radio code? Anything else I should be aware of before pulling the battery if I have to? Thanks again.

Justin
Borg561 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 02:16 AM   #6
tiFreak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: asdfasdf
Posts: 10,029
Vehicles
iTrader: (8)
Default

just enter the radio code and you should be fine
tiFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:47 AM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 82.08 k/96.74 k (15.15%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.