318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Engine Swaps

Notices

Engine Swaps Engine conversions.

.
» Recent Threads
Is this a clubsport?
12-09-2018 06:54 AM
Last post by BMW_Hatchback
Yesterday 08:11 PM
6 Replies, 515 Views
98 MTech Daily Driver
12-01-2018 09:00 PM
Last post by KGB318TI
Yesterday 04:29 PM
3 Replies, 787 Views
Happy Birthday ...
Yesterday 06:00 AM
Last post by 1996 328ti
Yesterday 06:00 AM
0 Replies, 122 Views
WTB 5 speed 318ti, am...
12-11-2018 05:53 PM
Last post by wodcutr
12-17-2018 03:54 PM
1 Replies, 347 Views
Happy Birthday graymae
12-14-2018 06:00 AM
Last post by graymae
12-15-2018 02:34 AM
1 Replies, 410 Views
m42 misfire and smoking
11-05-2018 01:55 AM
Last post by B1p0larbear
12-13-2018 11:11 PM
7 Replies, 1,456 Views
1996 318ti Part Out
09-13-2018 08:43 PM
Last post by Sbim
12-13-2018 07:12 AM
18 Replies, 3,644 Views
95 318ti in Albuquerque
12-11-2018 07:26 AM
Last post by dynagroove
12-13-2018 05:01 AM
6 Replies, 613 Views
MOD Request - Vote for...
12-12-2018 07:06 PM
Last post by 1996 328ti
12-13-2018 04:13 AM
1 Replies, 253 Views
Belt squeaking after...
11-27-2018 11:56 PM
Last post by BRADESTAR
12-12-2018 02:47 AM
6 Replies, 837 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2008, 10:43 PM   #16
labiel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Default

That's why I'm confused. Anyway if it's both OBD I or OBD II can I receive correct MPG reading from my OBC, and how to do this? Or maybe after I'll instal 6cyl instrument cluster it will be accurate?
labiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 12:16 AM   #17
labiel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Talking

Solution to false MPG on my OBC after swap to M52B28 was to change it for one from 323ti it's also R6 and works perfect (after small calibration). I also bought additional water pump from E34 to add it to my heating system to resolve heaing problems. I'll install it soon and I'll post if it was solution or not.

Yes, it was solution.
labiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 03:56 PM   #18
lionell247
Member
 
lionell247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: branford, CT
Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)
Default

hello im doing on OBD1 95ti to OBD2 can you help please. thanks
lionell247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 06:04 PM   #19
Rich
Senior Member
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 197
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by labiel View Post
That's why I'm confused. Anyway if it's both OBD I or OBD II can I receive correct MPG reading from my OBC, and how to do this? Or maybe after I'll instal 6cyl instrument cluster it will be accurate?
I have a M52B28 and installed an OBC from Germany. I also have installed an instrument cluster from a 6 cylinder. The cluster has no effect on the OBC. Both take signal from the same wire. The cluster has an mpg gauge which looks fairly accurate. The OBC is way off.

Unfortunately its hard to find OBC's from 323ti's or 6 cylinder Z3's in the UK. If anyone finds a solution for this problem please let us know.
__________________
Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 10:51 PM   #20
labiel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lionell247 View Post
hello im doing on OBD1 95ti to OBD2 can you help please. thanks
If You have questions please e-mail me or ask on forum.
labiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 11:05 PM   #21
Chris S
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Farnborough, UK
Posts: 64
iTrader: (0)
Default

Think I read somewhere that ODBII wasn't introduced in Europe till much later than the US (99 or round abouts) meaning pretty much all euro E36s are ODBI.
Chris S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 09:26 PM   #22
Rich
Senior Member
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 197
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris S View Post
Think I read somewhere that ODBII wasn't introduced in Europe till much later than the US (99 or round abouts) meaning pretty much all euro E36s are ODBI.
OBD I was from 1992 to 1995
OBD II was from 1996 +

My UK 1997 is OBD II.

As for the on-board computer even though mentioned in my last post that it was hard to get a 323ti or Z3 OBC. I had a another look today and managed to source one from a 6 cylinder Z3 Will update if how & well it works here once I get it.
__________________
Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 02:18 PM   #23
lionell247
Member
 
lionell247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: branford, CT
Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)
Default

will the OBC plug rite in and what will it do. is there anything else i need to know about the OBD1 to OBD2

i have a 95 318ti OBD1 and a 328 96 production date but its a 97 in year OBD2

i there a personal email i can send you questions about the swap and things of that nature?
lionell247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 09:04 PM   #24
labiel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Default

In my case everything was plug n play. My 1995r ti was OBDI and M52B28 from 328i 1996r was OBDII. Everything works fine. My email guziorsky[nospam]wp.pl, fell free to ask.
labiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 03:55 PM   #25
lionell247
Member
 
lionell247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: branford, CT
Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)
Default

hey i tryed emailing you but it didnt work could you take a picture of the obc so i know what it looks like?
lionell247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 02:18 PM   #26
lionell247
Member
 
lionell247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: branford, CT
Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)
Default

hey i was wondering if you had a chance to take a picture of the OBC just so i make sure i have the same one?
lionell247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 05:04 PM   #27
labiel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Default

You mean on-board computer or On-board diagnostic? OBD looks same (round connectors i engine bay(318ti on driver side, 328i passanger side) OBC is different, since 318ti is compact(small computer with 2buttons).
labiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 02:41 PM   #28
lionell247
Member
 
lionell247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: branford, CT
Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)
Default

hey sorry for the delay which ever one u replace.
lionell247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 01:31 AM   #29
lionell247
Member
 
lionell247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: branford, CT
Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)
Default help

Need help asap everything is ready to go turn the key and nothing let me know what's going on?
lionell247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 11:49 AM   #30
labiel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
Default

Hi!

To start you engine you have to:

1.Swap EWS chip from donor key to your car key (important-put it inside key)

2.Swap EWS II box (if you car don't have it I can send you instr. how to connect it, it's simple, but you'll need EWS antenna and donor EWS of course)

3.OBC makes no difference, I swaped mine form 323 since milleage misreading on 4cyl OBC. BUT YOU DON'T HAVE TO DO IT TO START CAR

4.Connect + and - from DME it's in wiring loom (that was my problem, since I connected + to car ground and (fortunetly) - to REALOEM DIST. BOX nr 14. It has 2 different circuits so there was no power. After connecting - to ground and + to one circuit with accu, everything works fine. - BUT WITH THIS NOT CONNECTED CAR STILL WILL CRANK, NO FUEL AND SPARK THOUGH.

5.In X20 I made no changes (except connecting MPG to R6 cluster - no needed to start car)

6.Of course all engine wiring loom with DME (car computer), 2 relays (fuel pump and DME relay) is from 328i then it connects through X20 (round connector) to my car wiring.

No changes in OBC, OBD are needed to start car!

Check this and let me know.

Here you have photo of DME (- ground) 1st one and fuse box (+ positive) second one, they have to be connected also, and this black box is nr.14 on realoem diagram above, I have main + and DME + connected there(remember to connect them together with DME + connected throu fuse!). Also on 1st photo you can see round OBD connector from 328i
CONNECTIONS
labiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
328ti , ews , m52b28 , swap


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
318ti Newbie Questions pcmedics911 Lounge 21 02-08-2012 07:33 AM
318ti DASC SPORT ACTIVE HEATED SEATS ALPINE WHITE BBS MOTORSPORT INTERIOR inlacal US and North America 27 12-07-2007 04:01 PM
Club Sport & 318Ti Dealer Brochures, Hartge Demo 318Ti Zines... Sekurit US and North America 3 01-16-2006 05:13 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:47 AM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 123.94 k/147.80 k (16.14%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.