318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Engine Swaps

Notices

Engine Swaps Engine conversions.

» Recent Threads
1999 M-Sport For Sale
12-31-2023 05:10 PM
Last post by Coop540iT
03-23-2024 06:39 PM
1 Replies, 102,509 Views
Once again 318ti owner...
03-20-2024 12:39 PM
Last post by two30grain
03-22-2024 02:04 PM
1 Replies, 65,539 Views
What brakes do I...
03-20-2024 03:27 PM
Last post by huirtera
03-20-2024 03:27 PM
0 Replies, 62,768 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark

Old 10-22-2013, 11:22 PM   #1
ntaylor90

Default M50 swap thread!

Hello everyone!

As promised I said I would start a build thread for my m50 swap into my 318ti. I recently purchased a de-reged 325is that was stickered due to excessive rear quarter panel rust. It had the m50, the manual box, and also full leather interior and m-sport body kit. All in all it was a complete car that i am using for parts!

Now I'm relatively new to the whole idea of swapping an engine, but relatively confident and competent with engine knowledge and a toolbox!

I started tearing apart the m50, and am replacing every single gasket, includ new valve stem seals, new bearings for crank and cams, head bolts (ARP) and stock HG for now.

Future plans are to do a lot of aesthetic work on the 318ti, basically make it look less like the bastard child it is, and then move onto Evo pistons (85mm bore, reducing c/r as told by the incredible crunchy) and have a manifold manufactured and wire a nice dirty big turbo onto it for some fun times!

I have taken a few pics so far, and will take many more, so I will do my utmost to post them on here for all to see!

I'm very excited about this project, have always wanted to swap an engine, and it's also an awesome learning curve for me!

Regards to all,

Nick from NZ
ntaylor90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:27 PM   #2
ntaylor90

The poor old 325is manual for parts

Starting to take the front off