318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Engine

Notices

Engine Tuneups, chips, wires, spark plugs.

» Recent Threads
The 318ti OBD-II engine...
10-19-2006 06:48 PM
Last post by Filiski120
04-24-2024 06:40 PM
210 Replies, 1,011,992 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark

Old 07-23-2009, 09:19 PM   #1
bmwgeoff

Default Timing Tools: necessary to use??????

Ok guys its been awhile since i was on but good news my car is home from colorado. I tore it down and sure enough the head was cracked at the exhaust seat to the water jacket. Now I have my other head i bought off a member last year valve job complete with a port and polish. My ? is do I have to have the camshaft alignment tool to reinstall my sprockets to the cam also supposed to use a crank lock tool that installs into the flywheel. Now Im a mechinic by trade and i understand the valve clearance on this M44 is nill. Do i have to use the tools or taking my time can i do it without them. And i live in iowa does anyone live close to me that has the tool i can borrow. THanks guys im die ing to drive my car it looks so sad sitting at my shop. Its begging to be drivin. LOL
bmwgeoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 10:48 PM   #2
pnosker

You should be able to get the whole cam set for around $100. I saw it while looking for stuff on repairing the VANOS system of the M52/S52 motors.
pnosker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 04:30 PM   #3
bmwgeoff

so your saying i really should attempt to use a tool of some sort to align the cams. I suppose i could just make one. thanks for the input guys ill post when its running then its time to find black leather seats from a member... mine are cloth. i cant wait to drive her!!!!!
Old 07-24-2009, 05:16 PM   #4
bmwgeoff