318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Maintenance

Notices

Maintenance Service Interval questions, oil change info.

» Recent Threads
solar panels for mobile...
Today 01:16 AM
Last post by solar_czpt
Today 01:16 AM
0 Replies, 19 Views
1997 manual 318TI M...
05-13-2024 09:38 AM
Last post by angwydwagon
05-13-2024 09:38 AM
0 Replies, 371 Views
The 318ti OBD-II engine...
10-19-2006 06:48 PM
Last post by kupkake303
05-09-2024 06:12 PM
211 Replies, 1,312,176 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark

Old 03-12-2004, 02:26 AM   #1
dominguezh

Newbie here. A local shop is quoting me $450 for an inspection 2 on my 318 standard. They said they will use Royal purple oil too. Thoughts on the price and oil? Is this something I could do in my garage? What does an inspection 2 get? Can somebody list the parts they replace? Maybe I could buy the parts cheaper somewhere on the web and have them do the labor? Thanks!

Hector Dominguez
Austin, TX
Old 03-12-2004, 02:43 AM   #2
1996 328ti

Vehicles

Inspection II in the Washington DC area is a lot more than that.
If you have the warranty booklet for your car, the maintenance schedule is there. But from what I remember Inspection II is spark plugs, gas filter, air filter, microfilter, oil and filter, transmission and diff fluid and mostly inspect everything else. Every 2 years the brake fluid gets changed.

My routine since I do a few driving schools a year is to replace my tranny and diff fluid every Spring. I do oil changes every 4500 miles. Plugs and air filter get changed every 36K. Microfilter should get down every 15K.

You can do most of this yourself. Join the BMW CCA and find a dealer that offers good discounts on parts.