318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Engine

Notices

Engine Tuneups, chips, wires, spark plugs.

.
» Recent Threads
Happy Birthday 30yrMbr
Today 05:01 AM
Last post by 1996 328ti
Today 05:01 AM
0 Replies, 102 Views
318ti Alaska Blue shell,...
08-11-2020 08:11 PM
Last post by e302ti
Yesterday 07:36 PM
1 Replies, 213 Views
EWS Box Match
Yesterday 06:32 PM
Last post by e302ti
Yesterday 06:32 PM
0 Replies, 79 Views
FS: 1996 318ti m-sport...
Yesterday 02:31 AM
Last post by Mad A
Yesterday 02:31 AM
0 Replies, 203 Views
FS - Adjustable Front...
01-26-2019 11:30 PM
Last post by E36Shua
08-13-2020 04:01 PM
7 Replies, 4,431 Views
Looking for 97-98 318ti...
08-03-2020 07:29 PM
Last post by Mad A
08-13-2020 03:44 PM
3 Replies, 535 Views
318ti S52 ZF 5speed
08-13-2020 01:08 PM
Last post by E36Shua
08-13-2020 01:10 PM
1 Replies, 138 Views
Big brake adapter...
08-12-2020 05:10 PM
Last post by Beam318i
08-12-2020 11:02 PM
2 Replies, 236 Views
97 BMW 318ti (California...
08-12-2020 10:21 PM
Last post by Texas98ti
08-12-2020 10:21 PM
0 Replies, 100 Views
96 M-Sport Slick-Top
08-05-2020 07:34 PM
Last post by runnr548
08-11-2020 10:25 PM
6 Replies, 704 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2020, 07:06 PM   #1
paul somlo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Greeley CO
Posts: 217
iTrader: (0)
Default TPS and ICV signals on OBD2?

Has anyone been able to view data from the throttle position sensor and the Idle Control Valve using something like Bluedriver or OBDLink MX?

I'm having a hesitation issue that makes me suspect one of those parts, but I'd like to get some confirmation.

Paul
'96ti 259,000 mi
paul somlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 08:05 AM   #2
BRADESTAR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 492
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

I have a simple blutooth reader and was able to see the throttle position information. Not sure about the idle control valve.
BRADESTAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:57 AM   #3
paul somlo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Greeley CO
Posts: 217
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRADESTAR View Post
I have a simple blutooth reader and was able to see the throttle position information. Not sure about the idle control valve.
After I posted, I realized that, since there's no feedback from the ICV itself, all I could possibly look at would be the commanded value, which tells me nothing about whether the ICV is working or not. The TPS, of course, the input is your foot, and the output is from the sensor, which is useful data.

I've got this hesitation going at low speeds (less than 45mph). Almost like the throttle cable disconnects, even though I've got my foot steady on the gas. It's inconsistent though - I went for about 3 months, didn't do it. Had the car out of service for a month or so to replace some seals, drove about 60 miles, after 55 miles or so, starts hesitating again. Never at highway speeds, though. Just drove back and forth to Denver this weekend, didn't do it at all. Been going on for at least two years now. Sometimes accompanied by high/erratic idle when stopped (1200 rpm).

I'd buy a bluetooth reader, but I don't know that I'd get any useful data out of it, really. Thanks for the reply Bradestar.
paul somlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 04:19 AM   #4
BRADESTAR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 492
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

Kinda sounds like gas. Maybe the pump or filter? I find gas to be a smooth cut of power and spark to be a pretty violent cut of power.

I have a high idle at stop too. it had been around 1200 or so. When I drove it the other day it was around 2100 while stopped, even after I'd blip the throttle a little. Probably something that it is time to address at this point. .perhaps.

Those blutooth sensors can't see a whole lot, but at least can pull codes and reset if you're on OBDII. They do give temp and some other stuff.
BRADESTAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 04:46 AM   #5
paul somlo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Greeley CO
Posts: 217
iTrader: (0)
Default

I was thinking pump/filter, but I have no issues at highway speeds or accelerating. I discounted ignition, because it only seems to happen at low speeds. When I had it apart last month, I did find oil in the #1 plug well, which I seem to have fixed with some RTV on the gasket. The other strange thing, was the #1 plug had a loose connection; the part that screws onto the plug where the plug wire attaches to was partly unthreaded. I'm not sure how you'd define "violent", but when it cuts, it's like I took my foot off the gas completely in third gear at say, 30 mph, which is pretty abrupt, car feels like it's bucking.

It's funny - when I get the high idle, sometimes blipping the throttle will cure it, like the days of old with automatic choke. I had codes read at Autozone over a year ago, nothing very definitive. They handed me a printout of all the parts that I should "replace" - right.
paul somlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 07:48 AM   #6
BRADESTAR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 492
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

I equate 'bucking' with violent. Sounds like spark. If oil is in the wells that'll do it. The valve cover set is easy and includes all those gaskets. Maybe the RTV didn't hold. It isn't expensive, the kit.

I had oil in the wells and mine would run ok, just wouldn't start sometimes. The valve cover gasket kit solved that.....can't remember where I bought from though. The oil makes the spark plug boots expand and swell up. thus loosening and not making a good connection. They should just snap on. Maybe I'm misunderstanding the threaded bit.
BRADESTAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 05:43 PM   #7
paul somlo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Greeley CO
Posts: 217
iTrader: (0)
Default

I put about 100 miles on it after the RTV, #1 plug well was dry. I would have replaced the gasket, but there's only about 40k miles on the one that's in there.

The portion of the plug that the wire snaps onto is actually threaded onto a small stud that is molded into the ceramic of the plug. Mine was partially unthreaded.
paul somlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:31 PM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 84.88 k/100.28 k (15.36%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.