318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Interior and ICE

Notices

Interior and ICE For all interior and In Car Entertainment discussion.

.
» Recent Threads
Happy Birthday graymae
Yesterday 06:00 AM
Last post by graymae
Today 02:34 AM
1 Replies, 216 Views
m42 misfire and smoking
11-05-2018 01:55 AM
Last post by B1p0larbear
12-13-2018 11:11 PM
7 Replies, 1,376 Views
1996 318ti Part Out
09-13-2018 08:43 PM
Last post by Sbim
12-13-2018 07:12 AM
18 Replies, 3,499 Views
95 318ti in Albuquerque
12-11-2018 07:26 AM
Last post by dynagroove
12-13-2018 05:01 AM
6 Replies, 503 Views
MOD Request - Vote for...
12-12-2018 07:06 PM
Last post by 1996 328ti
12-13-2018 04:13 AM
1 Replies, 169 Views
Belt squeaking after...
11-27-2018 11:56 PM
Last post by BRADESTAR
12-12-2018 02:47 AM
6 Replies, 754 Views
FS: '98-Manual-169k...
12-11-2018 08:04 PM
Last post by Boston Green
12-11-2018 08:04 PM
0 Replies, 198 Views
WTB 5 speed 318ti, am...
12-11-2018 05:53 PM
Last post by KASZ
12-11-2018 05:53 PM
0 Replies, 149 Views
New here so lets arc you...
11-09-2018 08:56 AM
Last post by 318tiFatherFigure
12-11-2018 10:59 AM
2 Replies, 654 Views
Oil Filter Housing Leak...
02-14-2008 09:21 PM
Last post by Locus7
12-11-2018 01:06 AM
118 Replies, 81,041 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2013, 12:04 AM   #1
Boffalora
Junior Member
 
Boffalora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 27
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default Factory Radio Support Bracket

I plan to replace my factory radio with a multimedia version that will fit the 318ti's single-DIN mounting space. For most replacement radios this is a fairly simple task. My proposed unit is deeper than normal and will require removal of a mounting bracket that protrudes from the firewall area to support the factory radio. Who has removed this bracket? Is it an easy job or will it require some metalworking skill?
Boffalora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 04:49 PM   #2
Shellback
Senior Member
 
Shellback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 541
iTrader: (3)
Default

http://www.318ti.org/forum/showthread.php?t=35962
I had the exact issue with clearing a path for a crap load of wires behind my HU. I cut the following off (photo below) and it was so much easier. Again, thanks to this forum!



It was easy to remove. I think I used a dremel tool or a needle nose pliers and yanked it off in pieces
Shellback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 07:11 PM   #3
Boffalora
Junior Member
 
Boffalora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 27
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

Tnx, Shellback. I'd say a pair of needlenose vise-grips would tear it off in short order!
Boffalora is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio Always Restarts and Needs Factory Code. HELP! Terrence_Patrick Electrical 5 06-07-2010 10:46 PM
Factory radio weirdness / poor antenna reception bond007 Interior and ICE 5 09-13-2009 06:56 AM
Factory Radio, which models fit? jeffc313 Electrical 4 02-06-2009 01:57 PM
Factory Radio minicoop900 Electrical 9 01-16-2008 10:13 PM
factory radio re-install question TippyMcStagger Interior and ICE 5 10-02-2007 05:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:23 PM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 73.57 k/85.12 k (13.58%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.