318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Interior and ICE

Notices

Interior and ICE For all interior and In Car Entertainment discussion.

.
» Recent Threads
Hard Motorsport Fender...
07-12-2018 09:09 PM
Last post by turbo340
Today 02:04 PM
1 Replies, 145 Views
95 318ti m52b28 swap help
Today 03:58 AM
Last post by Kglenn328
Today 03:58 AM
0 Replies, 109 Views
WTB: the top cap for the...
Today 03:16 AM
Last post by dmorris318ti
Today 03:16 AM
0 Replies, 81 Views
M52 Swap Questions
07-01-2018 05:06 PM
Last post by Kglenn328
Today 02:38 AM
16 Replies, 1,501 Views
What model ti do you own?
02-26-2003 03:40 AM
Last post by 3DGE
Today 02:35 AM
322 Replies, 105,131 Views
Happy Birthday 30yrMbr
Yesterday 05:00 AM
Last post by 1996 328ti
Yesterday 05:00 AM
0 Replies, 176 Views
Will M3 parts fit a 96...
04-04-2007 05:27 AM
Last post by 3DGE
Yesterday 03:25 AM
15 Replies, 2,069 Views
AutoCross Checklist (FAQ)
08-24-2006 04:39 PM
Last post by weste46
08-14-2018 03:17 PM
9 Replies, 16,972 Views
File this under: "You're...
06-12-2018 07:23 PM
Last post by weste46
08-14-2018 03:10 PM
3 Replies, 747 Views
Expanding Our BMW Family
08-14-2018 03:01 PM
Last post by weste46
08-14-2018 03:01 PM
0 Replies, 110 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2013, 11:04 PM   #1
Boffalora
Junior Member
 
Boffalora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 27
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default Factory Radio Support Bracket

I plan to replace my factory radio with a multimedia version that will fit the 318ti's single-DIN mounting space. For most replacement radios this is a fairly simple task. My proposed unit is deeper than normal and will require removal of a mounting bracket that protrudes from the firewall area to support the factory radio. Who has removed this bracket? Is it an easy job or will it require some metalworking skill?
Boffalora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 03:49 PM   #2
Shellback
Senior Member
 
Shellback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 541
iTrader: (3)
Default

http://www.318ti.org/forum/showthread.php?t=35962
I had the exact issue with clearing a path for a crap load of wires behind my HU. I cut the following off (photo below) and it was so much easier. Again, thanks to this forum!



It was easy to remove. I think I used a dremel tool or a needle nose pliers and yanked it off in pieces
Shellback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 06:11 PM   #3
Boffalora
Junior Member
 
Boffalora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 27
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

Tnx, Shellback. I'd say a pair of needlenose vise-grips would tear it off in short order!
Boffalora is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio Always Restarts and Needs Factory Code. HELP! Terrence_Patrick Electrical 5 06-07-2010 09:46 PM
Factory radio weirdness / poor antenna reception bond007 Interior and ICE 5 09-13-2009 05:56 AM
Factory Radio, which models fit? jeffc313 Electrical 4 02-06-2009 12:57 PM
Factory Radio minicoop900 Electrical 9 01-16-2008 09:13 PM
factory radio re-install question TippyMcStagger Interior and ICE 5 10-02-2007 04:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:22 PM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 73.03 k/84.72 k (13.80%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.