318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Transmission

Notices

Transmission Automatic, manual and shift lever discussions.

.
» Recent Threads
looove
04-16-2024 01:18 PM
Last post by RichardBug
04-16-2024 01:18 PM
0 Replies, 1,480 Views
Brakes - soft pedal and...
04-14-2024 01:02 PM
Last post by bcp
04-14-2024 01:09 PM
1 Replies, 2,358 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2007, 11:36 PM   #1
marko
Senior Member
 
marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,625
iTrader: (2)
Default HELP! ASC light ON & TRANY oil leak!

hello.. I changed the engine mounts on my car this weekend, I got a feeling I may have lifted the motor up a bit too much in order to get the mounts off.. seems I may have tweeked something by the trany as I have an obvoius OIL LEAK (see photo)...
Would anyone know exactly where it is coming from and further, is this something I should be worried about immediatelly, or do I still have some time (say, spring maybe )..

ALSO, my ASC light went on and stayed on, today.. goes out when I shut the car off, but as soon asI start it back up and drive around for about 5-10 min, IT COMES BACK ON. The ASC button will not shut it off..
I did a search pn this site & I came across an identical example where checking an ASC valve & cable was recomended.
I, however, am not sure which cable/valve this is, hence two additional photos..

sooo... if anyone has a clue on the severity of the pictured leak & ANY clues as to how to shut the ASC light on (point out the ASC valve / cable in order for me to inspect), this would be the time & it would be highly apreciated!

Ps - tha car has a DASC so some stuff has been relocated..
marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 01:48 PM   #2
marko
Senior Member
 
marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,625
iTrader: (2)
Default

so, no thoughts on either of these??
marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 02:44 PM   #3
mohaughn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,525
iTrader: (1)
Default

In the third and fourth pictures the unit on the right hand side, closest to the headlights is the cruise control. The unit closest to the shock is the ASC throttle control. My car does not have ASC but had cruise control, I only have the one closest to the headlights.
mohaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 03:50 PM   #4
marko
Senior Member
 
marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,625
iTrader: (2)
Default

thx man..

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohaughn View Post
In the third and fourth pictures the unit on the right hand side, closest to the headlights is the cruise control. The unit closest to the shock is the ASC throttle control. My car does not have ASC but had cruise control, I only have the one closest to the headlights.
marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 04:19 PM   #5
weezer
Senior Member
 
weezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lincoln Park Capitol Hill, Washington DC
Posts: 741
iTrader: (0)
Default

Try cleaning it off, so if it is a leak and not a spill from lifting, you will know.
My tranny is slightly "wet", and my mechanic tells me that it is typical of cars with high mileage.......don't know if this is true or not.
Good Luck
__________________
It's always a great day to be underwater and play with the fish.....preserve our oceans and reefs"
Fariz

1997 318ti, Hellrot (Bright Red), Dinan Stage 2 Chip
16x7 OEM sport Wheels/X-Brace/Custom Strut Brace/Cold Air Intake/M-Tec Steering Wheel/Koni Adjustable FrontShocks/ Bilstein Sport Rear Shocks /H&R Sport Springs/Custom fabricated strut tower brace/Rear Strut brace, Stromung Exhaust
Future Mods: E46 17" wheels or Kosei K-1 17x8.5s
weezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 04:30 PM   #6
marko
Senior Member
 
marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,625
iTrader: (2)
Default

yeah, thats next! I'll get new trany mounts - then clean up the whole thing as I'm replacing them...

anyway, I'm much more worried as to why my ASC light is on?? hope it is not related, as I do not see anything wrong with the valve/cables.

Quote:
Originally Posted by weezer View Post
Try cleaning it off, so if it is a leak and not a spill from lifting, you will know.
My tranny is slightly "wet", and my mechanic tells me that it is typical of cars with high mileage.......don't know if this is true or not.
Good Luck
marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 04:47 PM   #7
weezer
Senior Member
 
weezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lincoln Park Capitol Hill, Washington DC
Posts: 741
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marko View Post
yeah, thats next! I'll get new trany mounts - then clean up the whole thing as I'm replacing them...

anyway, I'm much more worried as to why my ASC light is on?? hope it is not related, as I do not see anything wrong with the valve/cables.
The Throttle and ASC cables are adjustable.....the ASC cable is to the left of the Throttle cable.....in your case (DASC) is the first one (right). Try moving it back (lengthening) and see what happens, and try the same thing on the opposite way. If that does not work, there is a vacuum hose attached to the intake plenum not too far from the throttle body, check if it's been disconnected. Check all of the connections to the ASC control unit, the fuse box, etc.
Good Luck.
Fariz
__________________
It's always a great day to be underwater and play with the fish.....preserve our oceans and reefs"
Fariz

1997 318ti, Hellrot (Bright Red), Dinan Stage 2 Chip
16x7 OEM sport Wheels/X-Brace/Custom Strut Brace/Cold Air Intake/M-Tec Steering Wheel/Koni Adjustable FrontShocks/ Bilstein Sport Rear Shocks /H&R Sport Springs/Custom fabricated strut tower brace/Rear Strut brace, Stromung Exhaust
Future Mods: E46 17" wheels or Kosei K-1 17x8.5s
weezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 08:55 AM   #8
angel318ti
Senior Member
 
angel318ti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Richmond Hill, GA
Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)
Default

maybe whel you lifted the engine you put too much stress on the transmission output seal.
angel318ti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 12:27 PM   #9
marko
Senior Member
 
marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,625
iTrader: (2)
Default

yeah, thats what I'm thinking, but my buddy assures me drive trains have been designed with a certain amount of flexibility..

I'll replace my trans mounts & clean it all of next weeknd & see what happens..

Quote:
Originally Posted by angel318ti View Post
maybe whel you lifted the engine you put too much stress on the transmission output seal.
marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:43 AM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2024, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 85.84 k/102.14 k (15.96%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.