318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Transmission

Notices

Transmission Automatic, manual and shift lever discussions.

.
» Recent Threads
Mysterious M44 Coolant...
11-27-2018 12:46 AM
Last post by paul somlo
Today 06:42 PM
7 Replies, 1,102 Views
New Aussie 318ti owner
03-18-2020 06:29 AM
Last post by lazoh
Today 06:01 PM
3 Replies, 568 Views
California Top motor...
08-09-2016 12:46 AM
Last post by artwerkes
Today 04:37 PM
53 Replies, 25,689 Views
318ti parts
06-09-2020 12:00 AM
Last post by Spartan 059
Today 04:30 AM
7 Replies, 1,786 Views
Hello
07-12-2020 02:08 AM
Last post by lazoh
Yesterday 06:37 PM
4 Replies, 367 Views
Troubleshooting AC -...
Yesterday 01:13 AM
Last post by Boston_Green_m42ti
Yesterday 01:13 AM
0 Replies, 119 Views
parting out a nice 95...
05-16-2020 10:27 PM
Last post by NMSDAD1
07-12-2020 05:41 PM
10 Replies, 2,965 Views
free door card (+...
03-27-2020 01:07 AM
Last post by adcurtin
07-12-2020 02:30 AM
8 Replies, 2,295 Views
WTB trailing arms
07-11-2020 01:32 PM
Last post by rouzbehg4
07-11-2020 05:16 PM
5 Replies, 255 Views
WTB: BavAuto Rubber...
07-10-2020 05:49 PM
Last post by FunElan
07-10-2020 05:49 PM
0 Replies, 258 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2014, 12:09 AM   #1
Richard Wood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)
Default Auto trans control

Hi
I have 2 ti. A 97 and a 95. I am converting the 95 to electric drive and have been pulling out bits.
I'll be retaining the auto trans so am looking to understand how it is controlled.
If I am lucky it will be entirely dependent on a speed input into an ECU and I will just need to replicate that feed. Am I lucky? Or will I need to fake other inputs as well?
Other questions I have are just which is the speed or tacho input? Is it the sensor on the toothed gear at the front of the engine?
Also is the black box that sits above the engine/manifold entirely engine performance and fuel related? If so I can cut it out, but if it feeds other useful things to the dashboard then it may be worth keeping and faking necessary inputs.
Hoping someone can help or point me in the right direction.
Cheers
Richard
Richard Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 04:48 PM   #2
BlackBMWs
Senior Member
 
BlackBMWs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,450
Vehicles
iTrader: (7)
Default

Interesting project Richard! While most of us aren't so intimate with the TCU for the ti, surely someone may be able to help. As far as the ECU, I'm thinking that is mainly engine control, but someone who has done an Auto o Manual swap may know better.

Good luck with your project!
__________________


1998 318ti Sport - "Cali" Schwartz II/Schwartz sport interior, Cali top
1998 318ti Sport - "Max" Schwartz II/Schwartz sport interior, S52
1997 318ti Sport - "Tiny" Schwartz II/Schwartz sport interior
1995 318ti Active - "Blanca" Alpineweib III/Schwartz leather interior

Other Current Bimmers: 2006 530i / 2000 2.3L Z3 / 1997 1.9L Z3 / 1999 540it

1997 318ti Sport - "Huera" - RIP
1995 318ti Active - RIP
1995 318ti Sport - "Tiny" Sold
1994 325i Sedan - "Jade" - Sold
1991 318ic - "Bert" - Sold
1985 635csi sold
1984 533i "Max" Sold
1984 318i sold

BMWCCA #160411

SUPPORT 318ti.org! CLICK THE LINK ABOVE!
Hosting a forum like this is not free. 318ti.org is one of the best BMW forums on the web because it is member supported, not vendor supported. The cost to become a Supporter is a nominal $10.00... A YEAR! DO IT! NOW!
BlackBMWs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 10:40 AM   #3
Richard Wood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)
Default

From reading further on this site and elsewhere it appears the tacho gets its input from the DME. I'm guessing this is calculated from the crankshaft position sensor. I can mount that in an equivalent position in the new setup or produce an input using a separate bit of kit I also have, and bypass the DME. I'm guessing I need to do the former to ensure the input gets through to the Transmission Control Unit.
I already know the speedo gets its input from the diff. I assume that doesn't go through the DME.
I still haven't established whether the transmission needs any other inputs besides revs to change gears correctly.
I assume it will also have some sort of kickdown input but I suspect it's not a good thing to open up full current for that purpose in an electric car.

Last edited by Richard Wood; 01-01-2015 at 10:46 AM.
Richard Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
automatic , electric , transmission


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Misc parts M44 engine, auto trans, diff, driveline, radiator, 124k miles, swap time:) raamaudio Parting out & Parts (US) 4 01-07-2014 11:04 PM
97 auto cruise control jenkinskg Electrical 2 12-27-2013 02:51 AM
LA m44 auto trans 200k w/driveshaft and parts dguzzardo22 US and North America 4 01-29-2011 07:45 AM
WTB: early e36 m42 with auto trans....all wiring, dme(s), accessories jakeb US and North America 6 03-08-2010 06:46 PM
my auto trans gets really hot need help JMCSIU Transmission 1 09-03-2008 08:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:37 PM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 76.38 k/88.31 k (13.51%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.