318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Engine

Notices

Engine Tuneups, chips, wires, spark plugs.

.
» Recent Threads
318TI Clean! Excellent...
Yesterday 10:23 PM
Last post by yobayn
Yesterday 10:31 PM
1 Replies, 157 Views
Broken motor mounts...
03-28-2020 06:15 PM
Last post by joe1602
03-29-2020 12:34 AM
1 Replies, 388 Views
323Ti Hatch Battery
03-29-2006 06:21 PM
Last post by clex2
03-27-2020 07:51 PM
14 Replies, 5,726 Views
DME Gone Bad?
03-19-2020 07:06 AM
Last post by BRADESTAR
03-27-2020 06:31 AM
6 Replies, 1,170 Views
free door card (+...
03-27-2020 01:07 AM
Last post by adcurtin
03-27-2020 01:07 AM
0 Replies, 168 Views
Rarity of California...
04-08-2005 06:10 AM
Last post by digitalat
03-23-2020 03:41 AM
56 Replies, 29,626 Views
Happy Birthday ILOVEHEAD
03-22-2020 05:00 AM
Last post by 1996 328ti
03-22-2020 05:00 AM
0 Replies, 332 Views
5 spd, tree crushed it
12-02-2019 06:16 PM
Last post by jay7602
03-21-2020 06:19 PM
8 Replies, 3,444 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2020, 07:06 AM   #1
robnhod
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)
Default DME Gone Bad? Anyone got one?

Short version:
96 318ti stick. Replaced head and battery. Start car and runs great. Next day car doesn't start, but can jumper starter and car runs good. Check engine light does not come on when first turn ignition, but bulp works. Disconnect battery and DME then reconnect. Turn ignition so the check engine light comes on. Start car then the light goes out like it is suppose to. All is good. Next day, car wont start via key/ignition and cluster works except for the check engine light.
I'm looking to put in a new DME, but could use some advice on acquiring what I'll need regarding delete chips, performance chip, cut wire to avoid EWS, etc.
If you can think of something I'm missing or want the long version, see next post.
Thanks for reading.

Last edited by robnhod; 03-24-2020 at 02:51 AM.
robnhod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2020, 07:08 AM   #2
robnhod
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)
Default

I put a new head on my 96 318ti manual. Once put back together, started right up, drove 5 miles, parked and started it up a couple more times. The lasted time I started it, it was slow to crank over. After that, nothing when I turn the key. HI have lights, full cluster, but no ignition or click from the starter. Also, new battery and verified clutch switch is working. Eventually was able to jumper the starter(push button on alligater leads) and it fires up. I've put a couple hundred miles on it and was going to get it smogged while I work on the ignition troubles. Couldn't get it smogged because the check engine light (CEL) did not come on when the key is first turned on. The rest of the cluster comes on, but not the CEL. I know the CEL is working because I did throw a knock sensor code early on in the running the car. Everything I found regarding the CEL points to the DME. I pulled the DME and checked the relay but didn't find anything. Reinstalled the DME and the car started on the first try. Started 4-5 straight times. Started the next day, but second time I started it, it barley cranked over, then back to not starting with the key. Still runs great when jumping the starter. I did disconnect the battery for something unrelated and when I reconnected the battery, it started one time only. Regarding the (CEL) after unplugging/plugging in DME, at times it did illuminate when first turning on the key and then going out once engine starts, but now back to note coming on at all.
I believe the DME is somehow losing something after first getting re-energized and would like to replace it as I understand there are several option for another DME. Anyone have any thoughts on this diagnose or acquiring a DME?
robnhod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2020, 03:35 AM   #3
BRADESTAR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 468
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

If you change DME, you need a matching ews box and key chip. All 3 need to be from same car. Can get a ews deleted DME and it should work.

I wonder though.....If the car does runs under any circumstance it seems like the DME is good as it is controlling the engine properly. Though if it doesn't turn the 'check engine' light on that is a problem.

Have you checked all the grounds? I think there are three.
BRADESTAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2020, 08:27 AM   #4
robnhod
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)
Default

Thanks for the thoughts Brad.
I see your point regarding the car running good once started. Could be something with battery or even the ignition, but the CEL does point to the DME. I've checked 2 grounds. Battery and passenger side wheel well. Didn't know of a third. CEL is the main issue because I can't get it smogged in CA. DME seems next logical step. I see a lot of cheap DME's, but best I can figure is I need a M44 unit w/ manual trans. It either needs a delete chip or would even be ok with cutting wire to ems. Does that sound right?
robnhod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2020, 03:56 AM   #5
BRADESTAR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 468
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

cutting the wire doesn't sound right. You can jump the ews terminal by connecting the two large wires at the ews box location. The DME will still want a matching box and key unless the ews is programmed out of the DME. And if it's programmed out you could just leave your old box in there....
BRADESTAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 02:58 AM   #6
robnhod
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)
Default

You are correct Bradestar. I was reading a post discussing the earlier 282 DME where they cut a wire at the EWS. So I either need a programmed DME from the dealer, a matching DME, EWS, and key, or a used DME with a delete chip?

Does anyone have a DME that might work for me?

I thought about disconnecting the DME for awhile, plugging it in, and then immediately getting it smogged, but I think I need to run the car awhile after reconnecting the battery. By then, I'm afraid the problem will resurface.
robnhod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 06:31 AM   #7
BRADESTAR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 468
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

I looked around and couldn't find my EWS box from my '96. Have the DME and key chip, but that wont work.

The computer needs a while (70 miles) to 'ready' all the systems for emissions testing. I'd recommend registering in another state if possible. A lot are doing away with emissions. Otherwise you'll have to fix the problem.

I still wonder. If your DME was shot the engine wouldn't run under any circumstance. Even if it was an EWS issue it still would never run.
BRADESTAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DME Interchangability Platanos Engine 35 07-07-2018 10:40 PM
318ti DME pvansickler Induction 2 03-15-2017 07:55 PM
DME M42 Repair: Artin318ti Engine 8 02-14-2014 09:30 PM
Error Code List - Stomp Test OBD1 biorjin Engine 28 02-08-2011 01:21 AM
error code list biorjin Exhausts 0 10-10-2005 01:55 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:10 PM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 88.84 k/104.16 k (14.70%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.