318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Transmission

Notices

Transmission Automatic, manual and shift lever discussions.

.
» Recent Threads
Valeo / Cibie part #...
08-11-2022 11:52 PM
Last post by userfinnk
Yesterday 10:42 PM
1 Replies, 391 Views
difference between...
11-02-2010 03:54 AM
Last post by M3WANABEE
08-14-2022 04:24 PM
13 Replies, 14,335 Views
What model ti do you own?
02-26-2003 03:40 AM
Last post by sarinasr75
08-13-2022 02:13 PM
347 Replies, 195,509 Views
Black Leather Interior...
03-04-2022 05:50 PM
Last post by bigcat82
08-13-2022 09:29 AM
21 Replies, 5,139 Views
1998 318ti
07-27-2022 05:31 PM
Last post by knightbird1
08-11-2022 07:14 PM
2 Replies, 692 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2011, 02:14 AM   #1
Nabetse
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chile
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
Default blown slave cylinder

The story goes like this, about a week ago I bought a 95 318ti in beautiful condition but the clutch was very heavy and hard to push so I wanted to know if it was the clutch or the master-slave cylinders. I took off the slave cylinder and pushed the clutch with my hand, the first push was hard but the second felt like there was nothing there, I went under the car and I saw that the slave cylinder was blown up and it was leaking the fluid. I guess that the slave cylinder isn't supposed to do that?




Nabetse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 06:12 AM   #2
Junk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 178
iTrader: (0)
Default

slave cylinder won't do that when it's bolted in like it's supposed to be! Don't worry, seems like many people do it installing a new slave and having issues bleeding it or whatnot.

Interesting, guess there can be such a thing as a sticky slave cylinder.. At least you found your problem!
Junk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 06:22 AM   #3
cooljess76
NOBODY F's with the Jesus
 
cooljess76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 7,824
iTrader: (6)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junk View Post
slave cylinder won't do that when it's bolted in like it's supposed to be! Don't worry, seems like many people do it installing a new slave and having issues bleeding it or whatnot.

Interesting, guess there can be such a thing as a sticky slave cylinder.. At least you found your problem!
+1, if there's nothing for the rod to push against, the piston will usually shoot out. It happened to mine when one of my friends depressed the clutch pedal while my transmission was out. No biggie, you could just put it back in. In your case however, you might as well replace the slave cylinder if you think it's the problem. They're only about 40 bucks IIRC.
cooljess76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
clutch , slave cylinder


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 Cylinder to 6 Cylinder Swap Refence Guide Bluebimma Engine Swaps 23 10-26-2010 05:02 PM
Slave Cylinder Getrag & ZF xxxJohnBoyxxx Transmission 6 12-05-2008 08:36 PM
clutch slave cylinder or throw out bearing 1uvaknd Transmission 4 05-17-2006 03:48 AM
HOW TO: Replace Clutch Slave Cylinder and Bleed System cali-ti Knowledge Base 0 12-20-2005 04:13 AM
FS: clutch slave cylinder DustenT US and North America 2 04-06-2005 03:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:31 PM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 67.60 k/78.26 k (13.62%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.