318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Engine Swaps

Notices

Engine Swaps Engine conversions.

.
» Recent Threads
Rhodes Racing Cage -...
07-25-2019 03:32 PM
Last post by joe1602
Today 12:41 PM
3 Replies, 4,670 Views
2 Bottles - BMW MTF LT2...
Yesterday 10:19 PM
Last post by stringdimensions
Yesterday 10:19 PM
0 Replies, 97 Views
Mostly new to cars and a...
07-11-2019 09:28 PM
Last post by bumbo
Yesterday 04:53 AM
6 Replies, 5,024 Views
Happy Birthday Biolite
09-13-2019 05:00 AM
Last post by 1996 328ti
09-13-2019 05:00 AM
0 Replies, 304 Views
Learning to drift
06-29-2019 09:11 PM
Last post by andakn
09-12-2019 07:20 PM
9 Replies, 5,113 Views
VIN number decoding
09-30-2007 04:07 PM
Last post by Pier
09-12-2019 04:50 PM
2,261 Replies, 568,256 Views
Happy Birthday Platanos
09-12-2019 01:14 PM
Last post by 1996 328ti
09-12-2019 01:14 PM
0 Replies, 133 Views
Ultimate Supercharger...
06-23-2019 08:06 AM
Last post by MisterM52
09-12-2019 11:10 AM
72 Replies, 18,986 Views
Club sport owners, what...
04-03-2004 04:00 AM
Last post by Ski-U-Mark
09-12-2019 03:39 AM
124 Replies, 43,641 Views
What model ti do you own?
02-26-2003 03:40 AM
Last post by roadrash
09-12-2019 03:08 AM
332 Replies, 119,164 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2019, 06:01 PM   #1
GeorgeH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)
Default 6cylinder Cluster Swap

Hi all,
I am finishing up a '98 M52B25 swap into a '97 ti. One of the last pieces of the puzzle is the cluster. I feel like I've read through every post I could find on this and couldn't come up with an answer.

What do I need to do to make the 6cyl cluster display the correct mileage and not illuminate a tamper dot when installed into the ti? I've done plenty of E46 clusters, but this one is new to me.

I tried swapping the coding plugs between the two clusters but they are keyed differently.

Is that all that is needed though? Do you I just need to find a compatible coding plug cluster?

Or does this require some kind of software modification in addition?

Thanks in advance, George
GeorgeH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 07:19 PM   #2
1996 328ti
Senior Member
 
1996 328ti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 9,334
Vehicles
iTrader: (1)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeH View Post
Hi all,
I am finishing up a '98 M52B25 swap into a '97 ti. One of the last pieces of the puzzle is the cluster. I feel like I've read through every post I could find on this and couldn't come up with an answer.

What do I need to do to make the 6cyl cluster display the correct mileage and not illuminate a tamper dot when installed into the ti? I've done plenty of E46 clusters, but this one is new to me.

I tried swapping the coding plugs between the two clusters but they are keyed differently.

Is that all that is needed though? Do you I just need to find a compatible coding plug cluster?

Or does this require some kind of software modification in addition?

Thanks in advance, George
I've had to do it when I drove my car a few feet without the cluster. It's going to take the higher mileage.

I found this.
https://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/s...er-swap-thread
__________________
...steven
BMW CCA #146825
1995 BMW 318ti Club Sport • 1996 BMW 328ti • 2003 MINI Cooper S
www.bmwcca.org
1996 328ti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 10:43 AM   #3
cefralu4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)
Default

You have to use the 6 cyl. Cluster the tach is different for a 4. Cyl . There is no manipulation dot on e36.
cefralu4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 11:58 PM   #4
1996 328ti
Senior Member
 
1996 328ti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 9,334
Vehicles
iTrader: (1)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cefralu4 View Post
You have to use the 6 cyl. Cluster the tach is different for a 4. Cyl . There is no manipulation dot on e36.
Yes there is. I have a cluster from a 328. When I drove without the cluster installed the dot appeared. I reset it.
__________________
...steven
BMW CCA #146825
1995 BMW 318ti Club Sport • 1996 BMW 328ti • 2003 MINI Cooper S
www.bmwcca.org
1996 328ti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 01:44 AM   #5
cefralu4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)
Default

No dot on my, but still need the 6 cyl cluster
cefralu4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Misc parts FS: Ews with matching dme and key. E36 6cylinder cluster Projectvoltron Parting out & Parts (US) 0 01-12-2019 05:23 PM
M3 gauge cluster swap: trouble with coding Strawman Engine Swaps 3 08-09-2016 03:46 AM
E36 Cluster EEPROM/Coding Plug Artem Electrical 8 09-29-2015 11:20 AM
1995 318ti Cluster swap to (98) M3 Cluster Issues. Experts needed jahnaboi Electrical 0 10-14-2014 07:04 PM
Manual/Sport Mod after swap and Guage cluster ?'s ca180 Transmission 2 03-05-2011 05:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:07 PM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 84.76 k/98.84 k (14.25%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.