318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Electrical

Notices

Electrical All wiring questions.

» Recent Threads
The 318ti OBD-II engine...
10-19-2006 06:48 PM
Last post by Filiski120
04-24-2024 06:40 PM
210 Replies, 974,354 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark

Old 06-12-2009, 04:22 PM   #1
iammagnus

Default 318ti is a working OBC possible?

Ok guys I posted this exact question on BF and it went nowhere I also searched here before making this post and I saw a few threads about 2 or 11 button but i dont think thats exactly what I'm looking for I did find a PDF that i printed about about OBC for 3 series im gonna show my mechanic and see what he thinks. What is your thoughts?

Ok guys I'm trying to get some info on what I wanna do here to see if it is possible and how much work it is. Heres the story I am brand new to the BMW world I just left VW and glad to be done with it. I have been a member for a few months now but I do my lurking than anything I am currently working on my 318ti I always thought they were cool lil cars and she should be sharp and be a demon when Im done throwing my 401k at her lol.

I was in a 98ish 328 and The dash was so much nicer and felt really modern for being a 98 and now my ti dash looks soooo dated. So I did some research and I have sourced a 4 door black dash to swap in but I would love the OBC to be functional. I am NO mechanic but my buddy owns a performance shop and specializes in BMW's so I have a leg up. I did search "obc retrofit" and every thread is about swapping out an 11 button for an 18 button. So its no help. What do you guys think? any info, opinions, links, walk throughs, diy etc would be cool. My guy can do just about anything but I wanna know what I'm getting into.
Thanks
iammagnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 04:38 PM   #2
b.u.ti-ful

Are you putting in one like this?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-O...Q5fAccessories