318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Engine

Notices

Engine Tuneups, chips, wires, spark plugs.

» Recent Threads
looove
04-16-2024 01:18 PM
Last post by RichardBug
04-16-2024 01:18 PM
0 Replies, 1,571 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark

Old 04-02-2008, 09:08 PM   #1
M4YTY

Default Exhaust cam timing mod

Im a BMW tech in the UK. Everyone knows the m44 runs a bit rough on idle. I was looking through the technical journals at work the other day and came across a mod for the M44 rough idle. It was to adjust the exhaust cam timing slightly using a BMW special tool. I was just wondering if anyone has heard of this before and if it makes a difference. Just before i start ripping my motor to bits to find out it doesnt really channge anything. Sorry BMW if this was a secret, but its out now! Cheers Matty
M4YTY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:25 PM   #2
roadrash
That's not Millpoint Blue

Vehicles

Hmmm... I remember my mechanic mentioning something similar to that. He said that some engines benefit from adjusting the timing by 6 (?) degrees. Or something like that. I don't know which cam it was though. Does that sound like what you're referring to?

Mods 'n' stuff: Star Spoke 43 wheels - X-Brace - Mason Engineering front strut brace - CF gauge overlay - ZHP shifter knob - Racing Dynamics cat-back - Doubled brake lights - M-tech rear spoiler
From Page 68 of the 1997 Owners Manual: "Vehicles equipped with ASC+T remain subject to the laws of physics."
roadrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:45 PM   #3
blndweasel

Wow, 6 degrees is a lot, I'd be wary... I would definitely find documentation to back this up.

1/1997 M44 ti M-Sport Schwartz II
blndweasel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:51 PM   #4
thesk8nmidget

yeah maybe .6 but that is interesting.

my m44 did idle fine once i cleaned out my icv though. never had a problem with it
Current- 1995 318ti, sport model, schwartz