318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Brakes

Notices

Brakes From what pads to use to brake upgrades.

.
» Recent Threads
Wanted in California:...
11-24-2021 09:12 PM
Last post by jacobthomass539
Today 03:26 AM
1 Replies, 313 Views
WTB - Front Sport bumper...
10-17-2021 06:08 PM
Last post by jacobthomass539
Today 03:24 AM
1 Replies, 1,336 Views
Other
Today 03:22 AM
Last post by jacobthomass539
Today 03:22 AM
0 Replies, 43 Views
Filters
Yesterday 11:01 PM
Last post by Higherb
Yesterday 11:01 PM
0 Replies, 77 Views
Lightweight flywheel
11-18-2021 07:43 PM
Last post by fast_frizz
Yesterday 06:54 AM
4 Replies, 1,534 Views
95 318ti 5-Spd w/factory...
10-15-2021 08:22 PM
Last post by Mongwit
11-24-2021 12:30 AM
7 Replies, 3,965 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2008, 06:10 PM   #1
DRIVER
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: England
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Default ABS Light reset

Hi guys first post so be gentle ok, Ive got my ABS light up on the dash, got the dreaded MOT due soon and need to reset the light.
Is this a possible DIY job, (like service light reseting) or will I have to take to a garage to get the fault code cleared and also diagnose which sensor has gone U/S.
Im quiet happy to replace the sensor(s) myself but if I can Id like to know if there is a home mechanics tool for reseting the light.
Cheers for the help, if this site is any where near as good as the E30zone then its gonna be GREAT
DRIVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 07:29 PM   #2
DRIVER
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: England
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Default

Just one other thing, if I have to get the fault diagnosed and they clear the fault code without replacing the sensor(s) will the light come back straight away or at a later date.
Really need some answers on this if poss
cheers
DRIVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 07:57 PM   #3
Mallard
Senior Member
 
Mallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Land of the Vikings
Posts: 2,700
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

you cant delete the fault. but you can have it diagnosed

sometimes the tester says its the abs sensor, but its actually the control ellement (mostly e39 s)

we had an example where the guy came in to have a fault read out on the ABS

"its the front and rear left abs sensor" we said
"ok, change them then" was the guy..

well, we changed , and then went into the DME to clear the codes... couldnt fin´d the DME on the tester !! Car was gone

The ABS fault was still there though?

So we say,..

"it may be the rear wheel bearing" as the rear left is usually the "control" for all the other ABS sensors.

"Ok.. well if it has to be , then lets do it"

2 hours later,.. and the wheel bearing is off (rear wheel bearings are never fun) a quick swap, and back to the tester.

STILL NO DME !!!!

Now, the mechanic is starting to sweat..

He then comes in , with a face like a cats arse.. and says, "it could be the ASC box" which is the switch control for the ABS system (at £400)

well.. The customer got a very good price on the control box, and then everything was alright.. but it wasnt the right way to go in my opinion.

What this has to do with you , i have no idea, but hey Welcome to the Org
__________________


Vin Number decode and Retrofit Pdfs Available Free ! Just PM
Mallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 08:00 PM   #4
Mallard
Senior Member
 
Mallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Land of the Vikings
Posts: 2,700
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

back to the point

You will need a specific tester to fault read and clear, you cant do it on a regular service resetter.

You will also need to know which ABS sensor of the 4 is faulty, so its a diagnosis sadly.

All being well, a change of sensor and it´ll be good to go
__________________


Vin Number decode and Retrofit Pdfs Available Free ! Just PM
Mallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 08:32 PM   #5
DRIVER
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: England
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Default

excellent will be on line later on to have another snoop around but for now many thanks for the speedy reply back in a tick ok
DRIVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 08:21 PM   #6
jordanmc
Senior Member
 
jordanmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 180
iTrader: (0)
Default

I just got my car out of the impound =/ to find this ABS light on.

The car drives fine, brakes, handling, everything.

Is this something I should try to take care of?
Is there any danger of a very expensive repair if I dont get it looked at or reset?
What does this sensor do exactly?
jordanmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 05:02 AM   #7
applefan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 134
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

I have the ABS light up on my 318ic also

As per the BMW user manual, it is just that ABS will not work when you use brake. Otherthan that, it is business as usual.

However, I just wanted to get rid of it to have a clean dash. I was wondering if anyone found a reasonable way to diag and fix.......?
applefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:27 PM   #8
Mallard
Senior Member
 
Mallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Land of the Vikings
Posts: 2,700
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

To Jordan,

The sensor reads marks on the edge of the wheel bearing hub as it rotates

these marks are matched for speed in the ECU of the ABS system. If the speed of a single hub rotate at slower speeds than the others, the car translates this as a slipping wheel under breaking (wheelspinning doesn´t throw an ABS action)

If the ABS unit cannot calculate the speed accurately, then the ABS lamp will switch on untill deleted. If the fail is still present after deletion, the lamp will return untill the fail is resolved

The Braking and ABS systems opperate seperatley, The ABS may not opperate in an emergency but the braking syst. will function wilthout problem

the ABS sensors are electro magnetic units the read the marks on the wheel bearing hub.


--

Applefan, the best way is to get the fail codes read out , and depending on the type of tester, which wheel the problem lies with. Then its a test again, and then replace said sensor.
__________________


Vin Number decode and Retrofit Pdfs Available Free ! Just PM
Mallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 08:01 PM   #9
1lenny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)
Default

Mallard--Can we test the sensors for resistance, or continuity? I have a Peake reader, and I don't think it will show codes or which sensor. I'm having the same problem, and I've just replaced the ASC relay. I had a good ten minutes when I thought it was fixed.
1lenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 08:50 PM   #10
Mallard
Senior Member
 
Mallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Land of the Vikings
Posts: 2,700
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

yeah you can measure the ohms frequency

the measurement should be

http://www.318ti.org/forum/showthread.php?t=14322

heres the shizza ,
__________________


Vin Number decode and Retrofit Pdfs Available Free ! Just PM
Mallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 07:38 AM   #11
lpcapital
Senior Member
 
lpcapital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 421
iTrader: (0)
Default

The light itself should self reset once the fault get solved (I experienced that several times: once I forgot to plug back the sensor the other just today when I got the car on the rollers for the smog test and the junky forgot to off the traction control) . The code remain stored in the module but the light turns off. Carsoft clears the code from the ABS/ASC control module.

Most of the time the fault is with the wheel sensors, it happens that dirt and moist get in there and interfere with the sensor. Before buying parts, remove each sensor and clean it with some brake cleaner or electric contact cleaner. That solves the problem most of the times.
__________________
http://i259.photobucket.com/albums/hh284/lpcapital/ZetaTre-2.jpg

2003 Z4 2.5i
2002 Ducati Monster S4
lpcapital is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:20 AM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2021, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 107.90 k/127.80 k (15.57%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.