318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Transmission

Notices

Transmission Automatic, manual and shift lever discussions.

.
» Recent Threads
Partial Interior Part out
05-23-2021 09:40 PM
Last post by bronzybook
06-12-2021 04:55 AM
13 Replies, 2,560 Views
What sensor does OBD2...
06-12-2021 12:24 AM
Last post by paul somlo
06-12-2021 12:32 AM
1 Replies, 146 Views
FS: 1996 slicktop 318ti...
06-02-2021 02:35 AM
Last post by automaton
06-11-2021 03:30 AM
1 Replies, 1,315 Views
Hazard Switch wiring
06-06-2021 12:32 AM
Last post by FunElan
06-08-2021 08:47 PM
1 Replies, 1,298 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2011, 04:53 AM   #1
ca180
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mehlingen, DE
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
Default Manual/Sport Mod after swap and Guage cluster ?'s

Planning on swapping a 92 M50B25 into my 96 318. Both are automatic transmissions. Will I be able to retain the Sport/Manual mode? I assume I will being that the transmissions are the same. On that note, will the transfer of the gauge cluster from an M3 effect this in any way? I know that I need to transfer the cluster from the 325i due to the tach and RPM range, but will using a completely different cluster pose any issues with Sport/Manual mode or anything else?

Thanks in advance.
ca180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 04:56 AM   #2
THAT318
Senior Member
 
THAT318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 621
iTrader: (0)
Default

im pretty sure it needs to be a cluster from an auto m3 to read properly. someone with swap experience can chime in for a better answer though.
__________________
*IF ITS FAST AND CHEAP, ITS NOT RELIABLE*
*IF ITS CHEAP AND RELIABLE, ITS NOT FAST*
*IF ITS FAST AND RELIABLE, ITS NOT CHEAP*
THAT318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 05:18 PM   #3
Swapped TI
Senior Member
 
Swapped TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 123
Vehicles
iTrader: (1)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THAT318 View Post
im pretty sure it needs to be a cluster from an auto m3 to read properly. someone with swap experience can chime in for a better answer though.
Just get an M coupe cluster. Any 6-cylinder gauge will work, but the miles per gallon under the RPMs won't. An M coupe gauge doesn't have that so it won't be a problem.
Swapped TI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MI Complete M42, guage cluster, motor mounts and more Watchmyradical US and North America 9 08-23-2010 06:38 PM
Assorted stuff from part-out: Dinan DME, Sport Springs, Manual Trans Swap kit PrussianMotors US and North America 11 06-11-2009 04:55 PM
what is this thing on my guage cluster? E36-daddy Electrical 11 05-11-2009 06:58 PM
guage cluster lights E36-daddy Electrical 3 05-02-2009 04:56 AM
Major Guage Cluster Problem - Help 318tibimmer Electrical 5 02-27-2004 11:41 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:21 AM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2021, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 66.70 k/77.34 k (13.76%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.