318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Electrical

Notices

Electrical All wiring questions.

.
» Recent Threads
The 318ti OBD-II engine...
10-19-2006 06:48 PM
Last post by J!m
Today 06:56 PM
172 Replies, 145,837 Views
WTB - Front Sport bumper...
Today 05:08 PM
Last post by roadrash
Today 05:08 PM
0 Replies, 61 Views
1995 EWS Bypass?
02-12-2019 02:19 PM
Last post by RustyBuckets
Yesterday 04:32 PM
1 Replies, 966 Views
95 318ti 5-Spd w/factory...
10-15-2021 07:22 PM
Last post by Mongwit
10-15-2021 07:22 PM
0 Replies, 241 Views
96 318ti Sport package...
10-07-2021 10:57 PM
Last post by UFfitz56
10-14-2021 02:18 AM
4 Replies, 1,292 Views
new engine build. dasc +...
01-02-2016 01:28 AM
Last post by 06MR6
10-10-2021 04:15 PM
211 Replies, 142,330 Views
Parting out all the...
10-07-2021 11:13 PM
Last post by 06MR6
10-10-2021 02:59 PM
4 Replies, 771 Views
Door lock operation
10-10-2021 04:12 AM
Last post by bcp
10-10-2021 04:12 AM
0 Replies, 461 Views
1998 318TI M-Sport...
10-07-2021 05:58 AM
Last post by daco810508
10-09-2021 05:18 AM
2 Replies, 917 Views
ICV
10-05-2021 07:12 AM
Last post by FunElan
10-08-2021 05:29 PM
1 Replies, 907 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2007, 07:46 PM   #1
tastade
Senior Member
 
tastade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 388
iTrader: (0)
Default Instrument cluster doesn't work

Two sort of unrelated issues. Car won't start. Tried to hit the solenoid to see if that was it, got a spark, and now my instrument cluster doesn't work. My starting problem is most likely the solenoid.

Why doesn't my instrument cluster work?
I checked all the fuses, they look fine (can they look fine and not be?)
Where to go next, I imagine there might be some circuit protection on the instrument cluster itself. Do I need to pull that out?
Also, no motronic faults, code 1444 (no codes).

Thanks for any help.

Eric
tastade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 09:23 PM   #2
tastade
Senior Member
 
tastade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 388
iTrader: (0)
Default

Also, what model instrument clusters fit if I need to buy a new one?
tastade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 09:51 PM   #3
M3_KILL3R
Senior Member
 
M3_KILL3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: G-dale, California
Posts: 1,698
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tastade View Post
Also, what model instrument clusters fit if I need to buy a new one?
i believe any 318 and 323s will fit. but our Tis are the only ones without the MPG part so i think it will fit and everything will work except for the MPG
__________________
Live Everyday As If Its Your Last
A friend is someone who is willing to step into a flame to save you........aka a 318ti
M3_KILL3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 12:31 AM   #4
tastade
Senior Member
 
tastade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 388
iTrader: (0)
Default

@#$@# I know what i did to my instrument cluster. It wasn't the spark from hitting the solenoid. When I went to hot-wire it to test the solenoid I jumpered the wrong pin 11. There are 2 connectors near each other. One is the diagnostic connector and the other is a wiring harness going to the fuse box. I jumped the one by the fuse box and probably blew something in the instrument cluster.

Does anyone with a wiring diagram know what that pin 11 goes to? Think I can just replace the instrument cluster? (I don't want to blow the new one if I damaged something else).

I removed the cluster and I noticed the LED display was partially lit up before I disconnected the battery. when I opened the cluster I noticed every component was hot to the touch, which they probably shouldn't be. I imagine the high voltage I input through pin 11 caused something to latch up.
tastade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 05:57 PM   #5
tastade
Senior Member
 
tastade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 388
iTrader: (0)
Default

Okay, the new instrument cluster fixed those problems, but now my ABS light is on. Anyone have ideas on how to troubleshoot that? If I jumper the relay, the pump does run, but I just have the sneaky suspicion that I fried the ABS computer.
tastade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 04:17 AM   #6
tastade
Senior Member
 
tastade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 388
iTrader: (0)
Default

Okay, the ABS light is on, but the ABS works fine, any ideas?
tastade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:37 AM   #7
anthony318ti
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fiji
Posts: 169
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tastade View Post
Okay, the ABS light is on, but the ABS works fine, any ideas?
Sticking ABS Valves maybe?
__________________

"If the world turns it's back on you, grab it by the hips and pound the crap out of it"
anthony318ti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:14 PM   #8
John Firestone
Senior Member
 
John Firestone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bremerhaven, Germany
Posts: 977
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tastade View Post
Okay, the new instrument cluster fixed those problems, but now my ABS light is on....
What month/year was the car built?

What month/year is the replacement cluster?
John Firestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 09:49 PM   #9
teen ti
Senior Member
 
teen ti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ft Defiance, AZ
Posts: 686
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default

guys, this is a 5 year old thread.........
__________________
1999 BMW 318ti
2005 MINI Cooper S

teen ti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:01 PM   #10
John Firestone
Senior Member
 
John Firestone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bremerhaven, Germany
Posts: 977
iTrader: (0)
Default

I suppose we shouldn't get our hopes up for a response.

Sorry about the noise.
John Firestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:34 PM   #11
nidan11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Woodstock, Ga
Posts: 19
Vehicles
iTrader: (0)
Default m3 cluster??

wait! i want to know the rundown on instrument clusters that are compatible with the ti. -- more specifically if an e36 m3 cluster can work and whats involved. i have an s50'd 95 ti with the factory ti instrument cluster and want to buy an m3 one and have it installed. Ive gotten different responses from various bmw mechanics. can anyone help?
nidan11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:06 AM   #12
John Firestone
Senior Member
 
John Firestone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bremerhaven, Germany
Posts: 977
iTrader: (0)
Default

There have been a number of people who have done what you propose.

Have you tried searching for "M3 instrument cluster" or variations, say, "instrument cluster with six cylinder swap", for what you wish to do? I find the search function here is pretty thorough.

Last edited by John Firestone; 11-30-2012 at 02:27 PM.
John Firestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mid Atlantic Roll Call spidertri Mid-Atlantic - US 88 05-22-2018 03:43 PM
SoCal Roll Call HuGo SoCal 105 10-12-2009 04:33 AM
NJ NY CT Roll Call pnosker New York - New Jersey - Connecticut 28 08-12-2008 10:22 PM
Sold my '08 Evo X for this ti'....call me crazy (new guy) Moose Lounge 36 06-18-2008 07:20 AM
Northwest ROLL CALL Dredder Northwestern - US 12 12-01-2005 08:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:34 PM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2021, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 112.99 k/134.10 k (15.74%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.