318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Engine Swaps

Notices

Engine Swaps Engine conversions.

.
» Recent Threads
unfinished supercharged...
06-22-2021 03:57 PM
Last post by Spartan 059
07-27-2021 07:07 PM
4 Replies, 5,340 Views
'95 Boston Green, ALL...
06-29-2021 04:24 PM
Last post by irdave
07-27-2021 02:21 AM
10 Replies, 2,989 Views
New to the group
05-30-2021 05:47 AM
Last post by FunElan
07-27-2021 12:02 AM
4 Replies, 2,137 Views
What model ti do you own?
02-26-2003 03:40 AM
Last post by sarinasr75
07-26-2021 02:40 PM
340 Replies, 172,877 Views
Longtime lurker via...
07-26-2021 07:33 AM
Last post by primo107
07-26-2021 07:33 AM
0 Replies, 155 Views
Happy Birthday ...
07-26-2021 05:00 AM
Last post by 1996 328ti
07-26-2021 05:00 AM
0 Replies, 137 Views
WTB: 318ti clubsport in...
05-21-2021 02:08 PM
Last post by jasminemicheal
07-23-2021 11:55 AM
6 Replies, 2,690 Views
WTB: Manual 318ti
05-17-2021 09:34 PM
Last post by jasminemicheal
07-23-2021 11:54 AM
3 Replies, 2,538 Views
WTB: M-Tech molding
06-25-2021 02:07 AM
Last post by jasminemicheal
07-23-2021 11:54 AM
3 Replies, 3,841 Views
New
07-23-2021 11:53 AM
Last post by jasminemicheal
07-23-2021 11:53 AM
0 Replies, 167 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2019, 02:13 AM   #1
ilillund83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)
Default S52 swap fuel pressure question / fuel trim

Hey all, my s52 is in and runs great but I had a quick question. I did not replace the fuel pressure regulator or the fuel pump (3bar vs 3.5). Should I? I would not worry about it except I am having a hard time passing CA smog due to high hydrocarbons only at idle.

It seems to me that if it were a low fuel pressure issue I would notice problems higher in rpm and under load in general. On the other hand I thought that it could also be caused by the computer opening the injectors longer to compensate for the lower overall pressure and the fuel trims not reacting fast enough when rpm drops to idle and dumping more fuel than needed causing the high HC issue. ( I might be WAY off on this and could use guidance! )

Thus far I have smoke tested the vacuum system, replaced all injectors, new o2's, new coils and plugs, and quite a few other things but no dice. The computer is clean, all monitors are ready with no faults and the car seems to run flawlessly.

One last bit of info, My long term fuel trims on bank 1 and 2 are +11.7 ( My assumption was this is also caused by the 3bar pressure regulator but again I may be off base here )

Sorry for the long read just trying to get info out there, any and all suggestions would be appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version Name:	IMG_20191206_152941.jpg Views:	53 Size:	86.2 KB ID:	17807  

Last edited by ilillund83; 12-18-2019 at 02:16 AM. Reason: Add Photo
ilillund83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 01:38 AM   #2
ilillund83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)
Default

For anyone who comes across this thread in the future, It was indeed the fuel pressure regulator causing my issue. If you do a 6cyl swap this must be changed out as well. It will run and seem normal with the stock ti regulator but the computer has to compensate and can cause issues with trims when returning to idle.
ilillund83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 11:43 AM   #3
J!m
Moderator
 
J!m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bouncing off the rev limiter in CT!
Posts: 3,046
Vehicles
iTrader: (1)
Default

I just saw this but I’ve been running my swap since about 2001 and never ran across this issue.

At first the car was checked at the pipe and within new car tolerance (for a 328 even, not a 3.2 liter) and since been plugged in to the dme to check more recently.

The fuel filter should be new/clean when you do the swap. 1/2 bar is like 7 PSI so that difference is increased with the restriction of a bad/dirty fuel filter.

Good to have this documented but I don’t think this was the root cause. I was going to suggest the secondary air pump efficiency is poor, if the emission check was on a cold engine.

The other thing to do is run it to 1/4 tank and add two cans of “dry gas” which they may not even sell in warm CA. That will clean it up. Also be sure your air filter is NOT an oiled type, and that it is clean or removed for testing.

Keep us posted on other developments.
__________________
"Speed's just a question of money. How fast you 'wanna go?"

Order Swap Manuals Here => http://www.318ti.org/forum/showthread.php?t=12912

WolferJ- gone but not forgotten. R.I.P.
J!m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 08:57 PM   #4
ilillund83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)
Default

Hey J!M, thanks for the heads up. Yeah I changed the fuel filter when changing the regulator so it very well could have been that my filter was slowing down flow, 3 years old or so. Just glad to have it sorted.
Last night I did the instrument cluster swap and everything works properly except the fuel gauge shows completely empty/light on. I saw on realoem that the compacts used a different level sending unit than all other e36's. Did you have to change this when doing your swap? Thanks!
ilillund83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 11:02 PM   #5
J!m
Moderator
 
J!m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bouncing off the rev limiter in CT!
Posts: 3,046
Vehicles
iTrader: (1)
Default

No issue with the fuel gage. You have to add a wire for the fuel economy gage to work, that’s it. You may have bent a pin or something.
__________________
"Speed's just a question of money. How fast you 'wanna go?"

Order Swap Manuals Here => http://www.318ti.org/forum/showthread.php?t=12912

WolferJ- gone but not forgotten. R.I.P.
J!m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2019, 03:13 AM   #6
ilillund83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)
Default

Must have been getting tired when I installed the cluster. I pulled it back out and found part of the retaining clip had broken and was keeping the plug from fully seating . All is well!
ilillund83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2019, 03:53 AM   #7
J!m
Moderator
 
J!m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bouncing off the rev limiter in CT!
Posts: 3,046
Vehicles
iTrader: (1)
Default

Yeah those clips were crap when new. Now they’re over 20 years of old...
__________________
"Speed's just a question of money. How fast you 'wanna go?"

Order Swap Manuals Here => http://www.318ti.org/forum/showthread.php?t=12912

WolferJ- gone but not forgotten. R.I.P.
J!m is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S52 swap EVAP question ilillund83 Engine Swaps 5 10-29-2019 11:02 PM
New Member s52 Swap cnaville210 Engine Swaps 34 08-05-2012 11:22 PM
Just finished swap, need help! No fuel! Hawkster Engine Swaps 10 03-25-2006 07:40 AM
fuel pressure regulator mightymax Engine 17 01-11-2006 03:35 AM
Fuel pressure gauge on fuel rail? DustenT Engine 3 12-15-2005 06:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:52 AM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2021, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 93.12 k/109.13 k (14.67%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.