PDA

View Full Version : Exhaust cam timing mod

M4YTY
04-02-2008, 09:08 PM
Im a BMW tech in the UK. Everyone knows the m44 runs a bit rough on idle. I was looking through the technical journals at work the other day and came across a mod for the M44 rough idle. It was to adjust the exhaust cam timing slightly using a BMW special tool. I was just wondering if anyone has heard of this before and if it makes a difference. Just before i start ripping my motor to bits to find out it doesnt really channge anything. Sorry BMW if this was a secret, but its out now! Cheers Matty

roadrash
04-02-2008, 09:25 PM
Hmmm... I remember my mechanic mentioning something similar to that. He said that some engines benefit from adjusting the timing by 6 (?) degrees. Or something like that. I don't know which cam it was though. Does that sound like what you're referring to?

blndweasel
04-02-2008, 09:45 PM
Wow, 6 degrees is a lot, I'd be wary... I would definitely find documentation to back this up.

thesk8nmidget
04-02-2008, 09:51 PM
yeah maybe .6 but that is interesting.

my m44 did idle fine once i cleaned out my icv though. never had a problem with it

roadrash
04-02-2008, 10:03 PM
I would definitely find documentation to back this up.
Yeah, you definitely should not trust my vague memory of what my mechanic said months ago. But, I do remember him mentioning something similar.

mohaughn
04-03-2008, 12:22 AM
To funny.. I read about this somewhere the other day... It was saying the M42 has adjustable cam timing. It was 6 degrees forward or back. Going one way gives a little boost to low end torque, the other way gives more high end horsepower.

Was basically saying it didn't make sense to buy m42 cams.

http://www.r3vlimited.com/Tech/318is.htm

I can't find what I was reading the other day, but I did find a few short blurbs. Everything mentions e30 318is.. Not sure about the e36 m42. There are some differences. One of our pro mechanics should know.

M4YTY
04-03-2008, 08:04 PM